Home > Adventures in Dating > The problem with dating a hat

The problem with dating a hat

Toast

The second date is brewing with the Fez. I should mention that I’ve just realised that her hat was actually a fedora not a fez.

Girls can look very pretty in fedoras but it’s probably beyond the best of them to rock a fez. I am of course ready to be corrected on this point.

Either way, she is now known as the Fez.

Back to the subject of dates, I think it’s probably going to be a chaste lunch.

Work are sending me to London, well to be exact I’m arranging a reason for work to send me to London so I can have lunch with Fez.

I’ll arrange some stuff in the morning and the afternoon so I have a nice window of time to take her somewhere interesting.

I do sort of need to go to London anyway. Sort of. Is this morally ambiguous? Possibly, but for the best reasons, right?

This raises interesting issues. I am very much looking forward to the next date with the Fez, but who knows how it’s going to go? We’ve only met once. Does that make it okay or wrong to perhaps arrange some other first dates?

  1. modestmeaghan
    February 19, 2010 at 1:50 am

    I think I read in a lady mag once, that, you aren’t supposed to put all of your proverbial eggs in one basket, and are supposed to casually date like 4 people at once and start narrowing it down. I’m not sure how good of advice that is, considering any movie or tv show I’ve ever seen with that plot, usually ends not so well.

  2. February 19, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Moral amibuity is my personal favorite! Be as ambiguous as possible!!

    As for setting up other first dates, that is a must. Never sit in wait hoping that one girl will be the key to the kingdom. Tragic mistake. Tsk, tsk.

    By the way, I am undecided as to which of you boys I am rooting for in this little wager. I am enjoying this quite a bit though. Too much, probably. :-)

  3. February 19, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Natch, *ambiguity*

  4. February 19, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Right, so the Interspaz has spoken. Go on many dates, and so I shall. It is my duty.

  5. February 19, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Hmm… *runs off to renew recently lapsed subscription to dating website*.

    I’m in a similar position to Toast on this but having 2 Actual Real Girls vote for keeping a few on the go is all the validation I need! I have a terrible history of SUDDENLY falling for girls, which I am fighting off this time.
    I wish lists of ‘pros and cons’ worked as well for women as it does for things like buying stereos and drum kits. …or maybe a comparison chart of features.
    Writing “likes robots – doesn’t like robots” doesn’t really provide a meaningful basis of comparison.

  6. modestmeaghan
    February 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Biscuit :
    Writing “likes robots – doesn’t like robots” doesn’t really provide a meaningful basis of comparison.

    I don’t know…who would want to date someone that doesn’t like robots?

  7. February 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Ack! Dating website?! By the by, when you say robot, you aren’t talking Roxxxy type roboy, are you? *crosses fingers and hopes you say no*

  8. February 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    NOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Not the Roxxxy robot. I’m talking about robots with lazorrrz and rockets and stuff.

    MM – I would sacrifice ‘liking robots’ for other admirable qualities, but it’s difficult to qualify. I mean, how does ‘liking robots’ weigh up against ‘downing a pint in one’.

    Hmmm… looking at this list it’s ALMOST like I want to date a boy, but a boy who has norks. This is disturbing!

    Oh, and dating websites are an extremely cheap and expedient way of meeting people when you live somewhere where EVERYBODY, dates EVERYBODY else. Seriously, it’s SO incestuous. I want out! It’s also a great game of gauging who is going to be fun/mental/awesome/liking robots.

  9. February 19, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    I don’t want to date a boy with norks, but I’d probably date a robot, if it had laser eyes and could fly.

    Do any girls have laser eyes?

  10. February 19, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    So, really, you boys are looking for fembots? Problem solved. :) Although, they might short circuit were they to attempt downing a pint in one….hmmmm, and they say my standards are too high?!

    And eeeewwww, boys with norks tend to be a bit, well, unappealling everywhere. *jabs at eyes to erase mental image*

    Don’t know any girls with laser eyes, knew a girl with a lazy eye once, damned distracting, it was, impossible to keep a conversation going for long periods without wondering what she was looking at over there.

    • February 20, 2010 at 12:03 am

      Just focus on the bridge of the nose. I always find that makes it MUCH easier to not keep flicking your eyes off to one side following their gaze.

      Biscuit’s top tip.

      • February 20, 2010 at 7:00 am

        I refuse to take the bait and ask the obvious question, which would be, “How many girls answered your internet dating ad with ‘seeking girl with laser eyes’ by mistake because, what with only one good eye and all, they mistakenly thought they were the perfect girl for you?”

  11. modestmeaghan
    February 20, 2010 at 4:47 am

    Toast :
    Do any girls have laser eyes?

    I only shoot daggers out of my eyes…not as useful as lasers, but still helpful.

  12. HatLover
    March 9, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I’m not trying to troll or anything but, that’s a Trilby you’ve got pictured, not a Fedora.
    A fedora has a wider brim and doesn’t fold up in the back like a Trilby does.

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Heh. Good point.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

