Home > Adventures in Dating > Voulez vous coucher avec moi, ce soir?

Voulez vous coucher avec moi, ce soir?

Biscuit

I am about to leave and head to London for my date with Indy. I will be taking my toothbrush.

You may think this a little presumptuous, but I assure you it;s just prudence. Last time we got on rather well, bantering and drinking FAR too easily. Last time I only had a few hours because I had to leave for my second date. This time we are meeting at 2 and have the rest of the day ahead of us.

I am taking my toothbrush because I have had 2 texts, and one conversation with Indy, in the last few days offering me crash space at hers tonight if I need it.

WhenI got the first I asked Dragonforce (who is not only a girl but has also studied psychology) what this meant. DF was pretty sure that this was more than an offer for a space on the couch.

The subsequent offers pretty much consolidated that opinion. Toast thinks so too. So what is the correct course of action? I think that taking up the offer at the start of the date would be a mistake. Regardless of the intentions behind the offer, it sets a certain agenda for the rest of the day. It also removes some of the uncertainty and spontaneity. Life is more fun if you have possibilities,  the unknown, if the tale unfolds as you live it.

This is why I am taking my tooth brush. I am also taking painkillers, condoms and a hat. I am taking the line that I have tentative plans to crash at friends’ at the end of the night.  This yields a number of positive effects:

  1. If for some reason we suddenly stop getting on it gives an ‘out’.
  2. It removes any pressure that knowing  I am staying over (couch or otherwise) might place.
  3. It makes for more excitement as the date unfolds.
  4. It means that if staying over does seem like the right thing to do then it’s much nicer from Indy’s point of view if I decide to forsake my other plans to stay with her (rather than plan to stay and change my mind).

I do not want to tote around an overnight bag so am going with only things I can fit in my pockets. The prophylactics are a necesity. The painkillers are a to ease any post-drinking pain. The toothbrush is… welll… if you don’t know then you’re not the sort of person I want to go on a date with. The hat is to deal with potential Dragonball Z style hair in the morning, should I find myself anywhere but home.

I feel I should point out that I’m not angling for the naughty stuff. I want to meet actual NEW people, go on dates, have a fun time. Hijinks are just a bonus really, but only if it feels right.

Anyway… at present I’m rather excited by the fact that we’re going to the aquarium. I LOVE aquariums!

Octopusses (..pi ..poo ..whatever) and fish are more exciting that winky touching at this time of the day. :D

  1. February 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    All sounds very well thought out and yet perfectly spontaneous at the same time. Should be fabulous. Can’t wait to hear the appropriate amount of details. :)

    • February 21, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      “The best laid plans of mice and men…”.

  2. February 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Hurry up and post what happened, you hungover fool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

