Home > Adventures in Dating > Raising the stakes

Raising the stakes

Biscuit

Toast is getting cocky. After meeting The Fez he has definitely pulled ahead and an unfortunate run of Real Life (mostly work orientated) has kept me out of the dating game for a few weeks.

Today he declared that he wanted to raise the stakes of the wager. Well, actually he declared that HE would choose the song that I would be singing. This was never part of the deal.

I cannot sing. I have never done Karaoke. I got into a girly strop when an ex wanted me to play Singstar and it wouldn’t let me chose a song. The most I’ll attempt is a bit of Boston’s “More Than a Feeling” (or maybe some Bon Jovi) whilst drunkenly playing Rock Band.

Aware that I might lose, I have been weighing up songs that I could carry off, perhaps with a guitar for friendly accompaniment. Knowing Toast, he will probably pick something like this (along with choreographed dance moves). Assuming the choice would be down to the loser,I was angling for something more like this (about waking up after a night’s drinking and not knowing where you are. MUCH more my style).

So my options are:

  1. Take the raise like a man and up my game (whilst compiling a list of evil songs for Toast to sing).
  2. Decline and protect some dignity should Toast win, but lose ‘man points’ in the process.
  3. Assume a new identity as a foreign tea merchant and disappear to India.
  1. March 15, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Come to the karaoke night I’m organising. You can practice. My pal who is the world’s worst singer is coming.

    • March 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      Dates, times and lots of alcohol and I’m THERE! …assuming it fits into my rather hectic social calendar.

      I suppose that to make it authentic, Toast and I should have to choose songs each others’ songs.

  2. March 16, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    All is not lost yet. Take him up on it.

  3. March 26, 2010 at 4:56 am

    *sigh* Have you fellas given up the wagering business entirely?

    • March 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

      Fear not! Although outwardly it might appear that way,no we have not. It has been literally the worst 3 months for me (working late a LOT) for work but I am now on HOLDAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!

      Toast has had a bit of a rubbish time too recently. All this has had the double effect of:
      1) not giving me time to write
      2) not giving me time to actually DATE…

      However that spell is at an end. You will regular updates from us, and hopefully some significant news soon.

      …anyway, I have a post to write myself today. (Sorry teacher)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

