Home > Adventures in Dating > Becoming Arthur Dent

Becoming Arthur Dent

Biscuit

This is a bit of a catch up. I did try to be all technological and write a post on Friday when I was on the train to London but my phone ate it. Honestly Miss.

In retrospect it’s not so bad that it didn’t post. I wrote about one of the Actual Real Girls (not ones off the intarwebz)… and how every time I mention one of the Actual Real Girls the plans always fall through. I was due to see one such girl on Saturday. All I had to do was avoid breaking myself on Friday night. …you can possibly see where this is going.

Friday

I went to London for a mate’s stag night. We went out in Camden dressed up as a selection of cliché rock legends. We finished up in the rock club that I was in a few weeks ago, although this time I did not end up sleeping by a canal. This was a GOOD thing!

I did however get the number of a pretty girl who I was chatting to. It remains to be seen if she will reply to a message though.

Saturday

Saturday the plan was to mooch around, maybe go to the zoo, but to wile away the day then see one an Actual Real Girl (named ‘Cola Lollies’, because she loves them). Unfortunately the weather was a bit rubbish. And we were feeling a bit rubbish. And a bit tired. And more than a little special. The rest of the lads decided to go home and since I didn’t fancy killing 5 hours when I really just wanted a kip I went home too and promised to reschedule with Cola Lollies.

The level of special can be demonstrated by description of my later actions: I found myself standing bare foot in the garden in a wonky dressing-gown with a bubble-sword spinning round, making giant bubbles and gazing wondrously open mouthed. I felt rather Arthur Dent. I couldn’t even make a cup of tea without forgetting to remove the tea bag.

In short, Saturday was a write off.

Sunday

Things become more interesting. I should mention now something that I have previously omitted. I omitted it because it was not a date of any sort, but it has now become comically relevant.

A couple of weeks ago I popped round to a friend’s sister’s place. She was in drinking and I had no plans so popped round on the offer of a DVD. We did not watch much of the DVD due to the snogging. This was not the plan, but I would be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping for it. The snogging was fun, but it should have stopped there. However I fell victim to the impressive norks.

I think that my subconscious was wagging its finger at me from the recesses of my mind. I KNEW that this was probably going to get me in some degree of trouble with my friend. As a result, I am ashamed to say, things did not go well on my part. *shaky fist at subconscious*

I have had prouder moments.

I mention this because I was going to a gig on the Sunday night and I knew that both my friend and his sister would be there. I was feeling rather awkward and particularly sheepish. I did briefly talk to my friend as I was leaving and the words about needing a ‘little chat’ were used by him. Ho hum! That one’s for another time.

Things actually turned out rather better than expected that night. I had noticed a particularly cute girl who I rather fancied. As I was watching the band she sidled over and, after standing next to me brushing her arm against mine several times broached conversation. We did a few chats that night and I asked for a number and gave her a lift home with the promise of meeting up for a drink. You can say I was rather pleased.

As is prudent, I did a quick bit of Facebook investigation to see if any of my friends knew her.

As it turned out, yes they did. They did very well…. Apparently, she is the 22 year old  sister of someone I know.

THIS is why I need to move out of here!

…I’m still going for a drink though, she is cute.

is whole levels of special at the moment, culminating in standing bare foot in the garden in a wonky dressing-gown with a bubble-sword spinning round, making giant bubbles and gazing wonderously open mouthed.

  1. May 5, 2010 at 4:27 am

    You are quite the busy boy. A wee bit naughty as well. Which, being the Wicked girl I am, I find quite an admirable quality.

  2. May 8, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Well, at least James McAvoy is really cute!

    • May 19, 2010 at 6:55 am

      You SO meant to post that for Toast didn’t you! I was racking my brains as to who James McAvoy was and had to turn to goooogleeee.

      I am not a fawn, I am a man who travels the universe in his dressing gown, bemoaning the lack of tea.

  3. May 20, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    LOL dude, you need to get out of that place you live in.

    • May 20, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      Don’t I just. It would be funnier if it wasn’t quite so frightening.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

