Buses

Biscuit

This is a post that I have been meaning to write for some time. I was originally going to title it “All Quiet on the Western Front” due to the complete lack of any dating activity. In essence I was going to account for the recent lack of activity, in the manner of a child squirming to his eacher after failing to complete his homework.

Recently it has been very difficult, verging on impossible, to find the time to locate and woo potential spouses. My typical week until September looks something like this: Monday to Thursday evenings – Sport and exercise, Friday to Sunday – Pick one from the following list:

  • wedding
  • stag party
  • music festival
  • camping
  • gig
  • work
  • sports

So basically, to fit in dates I have to bump other activities, or cunningly combine them with any of the above. I am still on a dating website but I have let my subscription lax and am not pursuing anyone through it.

However, in the last couple of weeks, the old adage about buses (You wait ages then 3 turn up at once) suddenly seems to apply. I have just spent 5 days away at Download music festival. This is kind of event that is populated by EXACTLY the kind of girls who I think I fancy. Ones with rock sensibilities, brightly coloured hair and bunches. However much to my surprise there were very few who I particularly fancied.

I did end up making contact and swapping numbers with a tiny girl who I found fighting her way to the front of AC/DC. She seems fairly interested and if timing allows I may end up meeting up for a drink as she lives in The London.

The week before that I was at another gig and gave my email to another girl who got chatting and wanted to stay in contact. Subsequent chats on facebook have proved very intriguing and I think there’s potential there.

Separately I was out with chums for a drink in my town of current residence and a barmaid (who I had previously remarked was very pretty) started chatting because of a band T-shrt I was wearing and ended up giving me her number on my promise that I would come in to keep her company whilst the pub was dead during one of many games of football that are blighting our screens at the moment.

Amusingly, last night I was at a wedding and an ex who I have not seen for 4 years was there (Aussie). Although there is NO marriage potential there she was full ofbooze and amarous intention and we ended up getting up to some naughty stuff (nothing TOO naughty) in a miniature replica village. I felt a little like a cavorting Gulliver.

Lastly, as soon as I finish this post I am jumping on the train to go and see Cola Lollies. Cola lollies is an Actual Real Girl who I know from not off the intarwebs. When toast originally saw a picture of her he went all doe eyed and cooed at the screen “hello dream woman”.

So, maybe all hope is not lost? Either way, until September it’s going to be tricky and sporadic, but that’s plenty of time for Toast to propose or mess it all up horribly so maybe the wager is still within my grasp after all?

  1. June 21, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I had been wondering if you boys had called things off……

    • June 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Sorry, life rather got in the way. Pesky stuff isn’t it?

  2. June 24, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Unfortunately I have had a bit of that myself. I need one of you to swing round by my place tomorrow and pick something up. It is a little award thingy. Doesn’t fit with the theme of your blog at all, but it will drive traffic your way which will be fun!!!

  3. June 24, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Ooh thanks. How do we sort this out?

  4. June 25, 2010 at 4:09 am

    wicked shawn sent me here. glad she did. so am i literally picking one from the weekend list. if so, i choose music festivals. i always choose live music over just about anything.

    btw – we both use the same wp theme. it’s cool to see it in another context.

    • June 25, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      Hi Patty, welcome! *gets out the bone china tea set and cucumber sandwiches*.
      Actually, last night was a gig (about which there are soon to be written tales) and the next music festival is in a month. The last one was ACES. I have big hopes for the next.
      Can I offer you a chocolate Hob-Nob?

  5. June 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Ahhh Shawn. I see what you have done! Thank you, what an apt description! Speaking of which, I have some victi… err… ‘lucky possible brides-to-be’ to write up!
    Fanx! =D
    *sends interspaz chocolates, of which absolutely NONE look like rodents*

  6. June 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Just found you via our mutual Auntie Wicked Shawn. I’m hooked. Play on boys. ;)

    (loved the line about a cavorting Gulliver!)

    • June 29, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      It was seriously the strangest place that I have done anything naughty. I think we evn knocked the roof off a house. Thankfully neither of us awoke having been pinned to the floor by irate tine people.

      Anyway, welcome! It’s been a bit slow around here of late but we have a little backlog of recent tales to write so you should see it pick up gain now. (and thanks to Auntie Shawn x).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

