Home > Uncategorized > Camping report – Part 1

Camping report – Part 1

Biscuit

So, festival camping together after a first date… fraught with potential difficulties and bountiful with opportunities? A quick way to find out what someone is really like or a situation so removed from reality that nothing is really meaningful?

Well, yes.. to all of the above in some measure.

Dragonforce was worried that camping with Stripy Dress and her previously unknown friend would spoil her weekend. Thankfully she made a friend in the queue who blossomed into something of a festival romance. This largely stopped her worrying and meant that she had something to keep her occupied when she wanted to wander off. Whilst I would have been fine otherwise, this did afford a little extra time to get to know Stripy Dress better.

Unfortunately, Stripy Dress’s friend turnout out to be one of the most boring and socially awkward people I’ve met. Thankfully he had a habit of disappearing for periods at a time. Sadly he always eventually returned, but I was thankful for the respite, however long!

Before I went I thought this could have gone one of two ways: elated or heartbroken. Confusingly it was neither.

As I’ve previously mentioned, she hit all the buttons that others should have done but somehow didn’t. I hadn’t been this interested in someone for over a year. We had a great date and I found her funny and sexy. I was more worried about how much of a spaz I would come across in a festival environment as I tend to really cut loose: bad dancing, heavy drinking, running round like a child with balloons and sweaty, stripped to the waist and peppered with mosh-pit bruises. I didn’t, for a moment, even consider that she might come across in a bad light.

Whilst this weekend may only have shown me her festival behaviour, I came to a definite conclusion: Stripy Dress is grumpy!

She was the first to admit that she didn’t like camping but she really didn’t seem to make much of an effort to cheer herself up. She definitely had her moments and had so much potential to be cheery, but just didn’t want to seem to join in.

The other thing that was very annoying was that she blew very hot and cold. At times I definitely had the feeling I was being yanked at the end of a chain. In my younger days I might not have spotted this but thankfully I am old enough to suss this kind of behaviour quite quickly.

I’m generally the kind of person who will cut everyone a lot of slack. If it’s someone I like I’ll generally make excuses for weird behaviour and try not to be judgemental. However I have a definite threshold of bullshit. Despite the prevailing grumpyness and apparent game playing I did have some good times with Stripy Dress, there was hand-holding, chats and kissing. She could be quite lovely and affectionate so I gave her a lot of rope. Unfortunately she eventually hung herself with it.

Saturday morning DF and I told her (nicely) she had been a grumpy shitbag and to cheer up. After that she was actually a lot better for most of the day. Unfortunately, Saturday evening she saw her ex boyfriend (from a distance).  She is not fond of him and the break-up was quite acrimonious but this sighting sent her into an introverted and aggravated mood and clammed up.

Eventually I had enough and told her to either let it out or to man up or she was going to totally spoil her time. Sadly, she chose to skulk off back to the tents to wallow in her torment.

As far as I was concerned that was it as I have no time for people who insist on making themselves miserable. I promptly forgot about Stripy Dress, ignoring a text to knock at her tent when I got back, and set to partying the night away. When I popped back for more booze later I largely ignored her and headed for my tent to stock up for more drinking and dancing.

She made a beeline for my tent and wanted to be all lovely again. I was having none of it and took her to task for being difficult and blowing so hot and cold. She protested but I insisted and was determined not to be swayed from this point.

The next thing I knew we were in the middle of hijinks… the naked kind. BLIMEY!!!

There is clearly more to this story but I will have to finish later as I am presently due out of the house. I am, in fact,  due out on a date. Not a date with Stripy Dress but with an internet date.

  1. August 5, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Blimey, it’s like an episode of Hollyoaks. Or something. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Hollyoaks, but it sounds just like the sort of thing that would happen on that. Though a grumpy camper sounds bad news. Mind you, naked shenanigans are naked shenanigans and shouldn’t be sneezed at. More please.

  2. August 5, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    And THEN!?!?!?!?!?!?!!?!?

    (Please note the many punctuation marks, meant to convey ‘holycrap!!’)

  3. August 5, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Hehe, sorry campers. Literally time was against me! The interim date is now up but I still have part two of camping to write up.

    And naked shenanigans are certainly not to be sneezed at, but I did REALLY need a wee in the middle. Top tip: get it over with in advance or just don’t mention it at all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

