Home > Dating Science > Inception: Your mind is the scene of a rather lovely afternoon picnic

Inception: Your mind is the scene of a rather lovely afternoon picnic

Toast

Biscuit is off at a wedding with both Cola Lollies and Cupcake so I thought I’d do a state of play post too. From the slightly garbled text messages I’ve had from Biscuit it sounds like the events of the wedding will be amusing. I’m looking forward to finding out what happened too.

I’ve not heard back from Mia, so we can only deduce that Internet Rats ate the message. There is no way of contacting her again without seeming like a total mental so I think I’m going to have to leave that one.

However in Toast DreamsTM we have been going out for ages. I’m not talking about day dreams (I hardly know her) but actual proper dreams. In dream world we’ve been going out for months. It’s all a bit Inception really.

Last night I dreamt we met a load of her friends at the Tennis Club. I was wearing a red suit which seemed a bit off, but worked well against the green of the lawns. I was late to met her at her imaginary flat in East London (I couldn’t find it on Pretend Google maps) and she wasn’t ready so I had to go on with out her.

Her friends were nice, if a bit awkward because I’d never met them before and Mia wasn’t there to introduce us. 

Eventually she turned up wearing an excellent plum coloured summer dress. She was delighted to see me and we danced in the afternoon sun to a band playing in a big white tent. We drank champagne and ate cucumber sandwiches in between songs. It was terribly civilised, and a complete mirage.

I have dreams like this most nights. Let’s not talk about what happened when I got a bit drunk meeting her brother that she might not have. Honestly, if I ever bump into Mia again it will be a bit awkward because she will feel like an ex.

On the rest of the dating side of things it’s gone a bit quiet. There was the girl Scalene and I met in a bar. I’ve now contacted her on a vaguely flimsy work-related pretext, well quite a good work related pretext but something she couldn’t get involved in and so we are in the hinterland. The awkward pause in a conversation. I think I’ll leave it for now. I don’t need anyone else to be haunting my dreams.

  1. August 16, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    A man who dreams, and in such vivid detail!! My dad and fiance look on in surprise (fear) when my mom and I recount our nightly exploits, and both agree in a manly way that they “don’t dream.” How boring!

  2. August 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Oh I dream ALL the time. Friday night I have a very vivid dream about people at the wedding that found me quite unnerved and with a feeling of impending doom. Who doesn’t dream? That’s just WEIRD!

  3. August 18, 2010 at 6:22 am

    TxtingMrDarcy – Don’t dream? How weird. Are they both drunk all the time?

    • August 18, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      That is a question that I’ll have to pose to both of them. Good thinking. ;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

