Home > Adventures in Dating > Filed under ‘L’ for ‘Let-down’

Filed under ‘L’ for ‘Let-down’

Biscuit

This should be a report about my date with Stripy Dress, detailing the gripping tale of either her continued erratic behaviour or redemption. However instead it is a tale of disappointment, although not of surprise.

In short: the date was cancelled. She had work to finish and it was creeping later and later so about 5pm I decided it was better to leave it rather than wait like a puppy for the yea or ney. Not to sit around moping, that very night I arranged a date with the tenacious Irish girl that I met on the streets of London the same night I met Stripy Dress.

Having made a decision to leave her to contact me, this morning, 4 days after the ‘postponed’ date, there had been no contact from her. However, in something of a surprise left hook, Facebook smartly informed me that Stripy Dress is ‘no longer listed as Single’.

Note, it did NOT say ‘…in a relationship’. This is crucial because it clarifies nothing and only serves to muddy the waters further. This is fairly classic head-fuck girl behaviour. Ordinarily I would say this is fair enough. I don’t advertise my ‘relationship status’, partly out of a belief that it affords me some level of enigmatic aloofness and a refusal to conform to boxes and labels that THE MAN might use to confine me with.

Mostly it probably just looks like I’m just trying to cover the fact I don’t have a girlfriend.

So, with this little tidbit of info, suddenly all of her behaviour made sense: Interested but then evasive and a little erratic. Clearly she was on the cusp of seeing someone, if not actually seeing them already.  I resigned myself to relegating Stripy Dress to the cupboard of ‘massive let-downs’ (which is currently populated by the likes of the 2007  ‘Transformers’ film, Y2K and Tesco Finest bacon).

I was actually pretty sad about this as, despite all that had happened, I had had some lovely times with her and still really like her. I suppose lessons here are:

  • Don’t confess to girls that you really like them too early on.
  • Don’t discard all your carefully learned rules the moment you meet a girl you like.

Then, just as I was about to leave for work… a message popped into my inbox from Stripy Dress: “soooooo how was the wedding???”

*sigh* Girls are confusing.

  1. fuckwittery
    August 18, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Nooodon’t learn those lessons :( games and rules are bad….

    • August 18, 2010 at 11:09 pm

      In the past I would have agreed, but following my nose and being upfront about things has generally ended badly. I’m not talking about ‘gaming’ girls here… mostly these are lessons of restraint like “Don’t propose on a first date”.

      Incidentally, still no word from her over 30 hours since I replied to her message. *sigh* Written this one off then.

  2. August 22, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Is it okay for my comment to be “no comment.” ?

    • August 22, 2010 at 9:38 am

      I’m assuming that this variant of ‘no comment’ is the ‘I told you so’ kind?
      Girls have many different types of ‘no comment’. Sometimes they are followed by the ‘well if you don’t KNOW then I’m not going to TELL you!’. ;)

  3. August 23, 2010 at 3:31 am

    For the record, I am not the, “I told you so” type, doll. Never. It was just one of those, I read this post, but I really don’t know what the hell to say to it, other than…….no comment.

  4. August 23, 2010 at 7:53 am

    “For the record, I am not the, “I told you so” type…”.
    …are there more of this type?! O_o *revelation*

  1. February 5, 2011 at 1:50 pm
  2. April 5, 2011 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

