Home > Adventures in Dating > A very long drinking engagement, and a wedding of fools

A very long drinking engagement, and a wedding of fools

Toast (Biscuit and Scalene were also there)

Last night Scalene introduced Biscuit and I to FleetStreetFox. There was laughter, there was vomiting and there were serious conversations about weddings. That’s quite a lot for a Tuesday evening.

We met the infamous FleetStreetFox in a bar so dark that I think Scalene found her by echolocation rather than sight.

FleetStreetFox was working on a bottle of wine and we said awkward hellos. FleetStreetFox was definitely foxy, we (Biscuit and I) were both caught slightly off guard by that. I think Biscuit was even momentarily shy.

I’m not allowed to give a longer description of her because she is all secret, we weren’t even allowed to know her real name.

Once the ‘oh my god it’s mad people off the Internets’ bit was out-of-the-way it was fun. It’s always interesting to find out if you match your blog persona. According to FleetStreetFox we are both a bit older than she thought and I am less stupid in real life. Only a bit mind.

Everyone got on terribly well, we drank far too much wine and covered some very important subjects. Namely DragonForce/Scalene, who has dated the biggest pervert and the nature of bets.

FleetStreetFox and Scalene both thought that the wager should end at the wedding, because people can have really long engagements and that would be cheating.

We also discussed the nature of the forfeit. My suggestion that the loser should have to shave every single hair from their body did not get approved. Which is probably for the best given that at the moment Biscuit is clearly in the lead.

This sort of nonsense went for most of the night and only stopped when the bar staff forced us to leave. We ambled home, pausing only to get chips and for Biscuit to do some light acrobatics and then collapsed for the evening. It was an excellent ‘quick drink after work’ on a Tuesday.

I won’t say who was sick the next day but their name rhymes with Miscuit.

Lessons learned:

  • Drinking nice wine may make you feel sophisticated but it will still make you do and say stupid things if you put enough in your mouth
  • No-one wins when you have a competition over who has dated the biggest pervert
  • After drinking a lot of wine, it’s not a good idea to go near the Internet, or your phone
  • Scalene is surprisingly light, according to FleetStreetFox
  1. September 1, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Of course the wager can’t end until the wedding. It’s wed or dead, remember?! I still think that eventually one of you, or Scalene, with elope with the foxy FleetStreetFox. Then I can be (old) maid of honour……

  2. September 2, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Molly – I think Biscuit and I are going to have to sit down and work out some revised rules. I couldn’t possibly comment about FleetStreetFox.

  3. Lilly
    September 2, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Fleetstreetfox is not available for elopements. Been there, done that, got the divorce THANGYEW. Unless they’re conducted on motorbikes, dressed in leather, and with a chainsaw accessory and lots and LOTS of innocent bystanders. That would be fun.

  4. September 2, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Lilly – That just sounds like my daily commute to work.

    • Fleetstreetfox
      September 2, 2010 at 10:24 am

      Oh, okay, FINE, if I must. But I’m not wearing white.

      • September 2, 2010 at 1:30 pm

        Does that mean I’ve won? Wow, I expected the wager to be a bit more involving than this.

  5. September 2, 2010 at 10:37 am

    “rhymes with Miscuit” *giggles* Did he ever see the light of day again? Poor thing. It definitely seemed like you had all enjoyed yourselves!!

    • September 2, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      Biscuit is alive, he just don’t have an internet connection at the moment. It was a very fun night out – I’m sure your visit to the UK will be just as entertaining.

  6. Fleetstreetfox
    September 2, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    You will have to arrange a lobotomy too. And get several bottles into me.

  7. September 2, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Why is it that so many awesome, anonymous bloggers live within such a close proximity? It’s entirely unfair. Supremely jealous.

  8. Fleetstreetfox
    September 2, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    We’re all astonishingly good looking too.

  9. September 2, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Yes, Fleetstreetfox, the boys have been certain to regale us with the details of the unmatched beauty they are surrounded by. Thanks, in great part, to Scalene, from what we hear.

    How did that vacation planning go, Txtingmrdarcy?? I’m a bit bored over here!

  10. September 3, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I’m not dead!! =D
    However, as Toast points out I have no proper interspaz at the moment. Just commenting is tricky and writing posts impossible.

    I already have a sore thumb from playing with my little buttons too much.

    Can ‘really nice wine’ NOT be the official drink of the 2010 bloggers convention? It ended up costing me my kebab in the morning.

    • Fleetstreetfox
      September 3, 2010 at 10:57 am

      I am not drinking cheap shit. Gives me a terrible head.

  11. September 3, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    oh, don’t get me wrong, it was bloody LOVELY! However I think I may steer away from large quantities of it in the future, even though I do AWESOME acroabtics with it.

  12. fuckwittery
    September 5, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Biscuit :
    I already have a sore thumb from playing with my little buttons too much.
    .

    chortle.

    Biscuit for a popular blogger you’re woefully underequipped as far as the social media hardware situ goes. It can’t go on much longer, can it?

    Someone has to marry FleetStreetFox now….

  13. Fleetstreetfox
    September 7, 2010 at 9:52 am

    “Has to”? Fucking “has to”?

    • fuckwittery
      September 7, 2010 at 10:48 am

      ahem. sorry, I meant ‘should take the opportunity to…’

  14. Fleetstreetfox
    September 7, 2010 at 11:33 am

    I am NOT ‘an opportunity’, neither. I’d be a fucking lucky break, especially for one of those twats. JESUS.

  15. fuckwittery
    September 7, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    whoops.

  16. September 7, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Don’t make me separate you!!
    You can’t kill each other, we can’t afford to lose readers. As it is I’m thinking of some kind of loyalty scheme incorporating a selection of primate related rewards.
    Who’s in?

    • fuckwittery
      September 7, 2010 at 8:11 pm

      Biscuit :Don’t make me separate you!!You can’t kill each other, we can’t afford to lose readers. As it is I’m thinking of some kind of loyalty scheme incorporating a selection of primate related rewards.Who’s in?

      I hope you’re talking fluffy toys as opposed to gorilla rape.

      Actually I hope you’re not talking fluffy toys, more trip to the zoo! or funny primate drawings!

  17. September 7, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    fuckwittery :

    Biscuit :
    I already have a sore thumb from playing with my little buttons too much.
    .

    chortle.

    Biscuit for a popular blogger you’re woefully underequipped as far as the social media hardware situ goes. It can’t go on much longer, can it?

    Someone has to marry FleetStreetFox now….

    ‘popular blogger’ are your words!
    *scrawls them on a home-made badge to wear with pride* =D

  18. Fleetstreetfox
    September 8, 2010 at 10:31 am

    What kind of primate? Macaques don’t work for me.

  19. September 8, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    @Fuckwittery it would be beautiful and consensual love. Possibly in a tree.
    How does that sound FleetStreeFox?

  1. September 2, 2010 at 6:46 am
  2. July 26, 2011 at 8:47 am
  3. July 3, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

