Home > Adventures in Dating > Cancel the wedding planning, Toast has been stood up

Cancel the wedding planning, Toast has been stood up

Toast

Yesterday I had two things an  important meeting and a date with the Maths Teacher. We hadn’t set a time for the date exactly, but had sort of vague plans for some point in the afternoon.

The day before I’d given the Maths Teacher my phone number so we could do last-minute date co-ordination. After getting drunk and talking about marriage I checked my messages on the dating website.

It was then, at 2am that I’d realised that I’d got a digit wrong on my number. Spaz.

So I sent another message with the correct number on saying I’m sorry for being a berk. Seconds later the following text conversation happened.

Maths Teacher: Berk

Toast: Yes, what a prat

MT: Come talk to me

T: Where? I’m rather drunk

MT: Skizzype

T: I’m nowhere near my computer – staying at a friend’s place. :-(

MT: You’re so lame

T: Perhaps. But I will be less lame later today.

MT: You’re so lame

At this point I fell asleep. When it was time to get up I pulled myself together, showered and dragged myself to the meeting. I was a little bit late and it was quite a tense meeting but it was good in the end. At midday I sent The Maths Teacher a text message saying

‘Right I’m done with work. Do you want to see some art?’

There was no reply.

So I went and had lunch with some chums. A couple of hours later I sent a follow-up text asking if she could make it for about 3pm.

There was no reply again.

At about 6pm I logged back into the dating website and I could see she had updated her profile a couple of times during the day to add in some new films. She had mentioned previously that her phone was a bit temperamental so I sent her a message through the website saying the art gallery was closing in five minutes, but asking if she fancied supper.

There was no reply.

I decided to go home. My female chum invited me to a flat warming with a load of Suicide Girls but I was a bit spent, hung over and a touch dejected so I went home and ate grapes.

I’m still baffled over what happened – but sometimes the world is a bit wonky.

On the plus I’ve got an actual wedding to go to tomorrow so that will be fun. One of my closest friends is getting hitched to the girl who he has fancied since the age of 13. I’ll post the story of that tomorrow.

  1. September 2, 2010 at 10:29 am

    After you made cats? Not okay. Plus, just rude!

  2. September 2, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Yes she never even got to see the paper cats she had challenged me to make.

  3. September 3, 2010 at 7:43 am

    i must have missed the installment where cats were mentioned.
    Is it *under* something? i’ve got no chance of finding it if it’s UNDER something.

  4. fuckwittery
    September 5, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    what a wude knoob.

  5. September 6, 2010 at 7:18 am

    Biscuit – During the three hour phone conversation I was challenged to make a paper cat.

    FW – Yes, it’s rather off isn’t it?

  1. December 21, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

