Home > Adventures in Dating, Challenges > Challenge 1: Blind dates

Challenge 1: Blind dates

September 12, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Toast

We have decided to set some challenges to make the whole experience of dating more fun. Or at least more trouble.

The first of these challenges is blind dates.

We have to set each other up on a blind date with someone lovely, or a complete stranger.

That is key, the set-up has to be with someone great and you already know, or some weirdo off the Interspaz but who you have heard is great.

I decided that it would the most entertaining if I set Biscuit up on a date with a someone connected to the blog.

The lovely Ms Fuck Wittery stepped up to the challenge and provided a potential candidate.

The only problem with this set-up is that we couldn’t work out how Ms F-W knew Biscuit, or me well enough to want to set Biscuit up on dates with her friends.

To solve this Ms F-W invented a fictional person called Lauren who knew her and Biscuit.

We (Biscuit and I) found this massively confusing, did I know Lauren? Why did Biscuit know Lauren? What was Lauren like? Did she like robots? Why didn’t Lauren want to date Biscuit?

So Ms F-W had to draw us a diagram.

Once we had seen this we finally understood what was going on.

I, Toast, had been deleted.

To be replaced by a fictional Lauren who was going to get all the credit if the date went well

The bitch.

Now Biscuit just had to arrange a suitable day and a suitable activity.

Lauren would probably claim credit for that too, the hussy.

  1. fuckwittery
    September 12, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    It’s just struck me that this is not “a challenge”: This blind dating is just like any other except you know a bit less about them but their loveliness is already verified by someone else; hardly challenging to just about survive. I suppose the risk you’re taking is on my judgement, fair enough I suppose. BUT I do think you should up the ante on the “challenges”. A challenge would be to “stand on oxford street with a sandwich board offering yourself for a date”, “collect 5 girls’ numbers today whose names all begin with the letter Z”, or “ask the 36th woman you see out for a drink”. This game of dare is uniquely intensified in a live environment lubricated with alcohol… get involved!

  2. September 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Well, It started out as a challenge, of sorts, but we both struggled to come up with eligible blind dates for each other!!!

    I reckon this is a good ‘baby steps’ challenge to start with. I mean, I’ve never been on a blind date. The prospect certainly feels different to other dates I’ve been on.

    I like the concept of your suggestions though… I reckon things that force us to date outside of our perceived type (or just get us in trouble) are good for figuring things out.

    I mean, it’s SCIENCE innit. In SCIENCE, you don’t try to prove your hypothesis, you try to prove a null-hypothesis i.e. the opposite of what you are trying to prove (e.g., I prefer dating girls with pink hair). If you are unable to prove the opposite (i.e. I prefer girls with ‘normal’ hair) then it lends credence to your original hypothesis.

    In other words, if you just pursue the thing you think is true, you are unlikely to discover anything to the contrary and so just follow the same path again and again.

    However, the sandwich board idea is bloody genius and probably needs to be filmed.

  3. fuckwittery
    September 13, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Ha! I am using an airport all-nighter on wednesday to generate some more. Just wait and see what I come up with sleep deprived. I almost guarantee they will not be fun for you.

    • September 14, 2010 at 12:13 am

      Actually, on second thoughts, it’s probably safer if you just lock me back in the cupboard.

  4. fuckwittery
    September 14, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Oh do not fear – they will be most fun for everyone else :)

  1. October 3, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

