Home > Adventures in Dating > Time and Money

Time and Money

Biscuit

The logical way to set about winning this wager is to meet as many eligible girls as possible and to invest time in the ones who show promise to see if a meaningful relationship, love, proposal and marriage develops.

As plans go this so simple that even I can manage it.

…okay, okay, maybe given my history of getting involved with girls who know about this blog suggests otherwise. However, that aside, I can still pretty much manage it.

However, I’ve already encountered a problem with this fiendishly simple plan. When I say “invest time in the ones who show promise”, I don’t use the word “invest” lightly. It takes both time and money to meet and woo ladies and I am running preciously low on both. I recently had to cancel two first-dates in a week because I was utterly knackered and poor.

In fact, I have mismanaged my finances so spectacularly badly this month that the bank are charging me £70 for the privilege.

I need to find both cheaper ways of wooing ladies (saving the more expensive dates for special occasions) and ways of maximising my time.

Do you think that simultaneously taking multiple girls to the science museum with a packed lunch is a bad plan?

  1. fuckwittery
    October 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Do what normal people do and
    a) budget sensibly or;
    b) plan everything around payday. If it’s far away you get the added bonus of not looking too available. Unless you then accidentally webchat one of them in the interim while in your pants eating beans.

    • October 24, 2010 at 2:32 pm

      fuckwittery :

      Unless you then accidentally webchat one of them in the interim while in your pants eating beans.

      You’ve written that to make it look like it’s based on a true story. Slander Ms FW, Slander!

  2. fuckwittery
    October 24, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    A guilty conscience needs no prodding mi alma!!

  3. October 24, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    *puts beans away*

  4. October 24, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    …anyone who needs to be wooed by money and/or special dates isn’t marriage material for you anyway…. at least not if you’re broke. ya know, there are ladies out there, who are more than happy to go dutch. perhaps it’s time you add ‘modern woman’ instead of prissy b!%ch to your list of criteria :) NOTHING wrong with a bagged lunch and if you managed to make the sandwich yourself, more power to you.

    • October 25, 2010 at 11:18 pm

      Oh it’s not necessarily the wooing that’s costly. I usually split costs on dates but splitting the cost of regular dates still starts to rack up costs.

      I have had a date this week delayed to next and I’m kind of glad as I’m bloody knackered!!

      I think packed lunches are fine under the guise of a picnic though. THAT is extra points in my mind.

  5. October 24, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I would LOVE someone to take me to see a nice exhibition and coffee afterwards. A tenner? Money well spent.

  6. October 24, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Cheeky!!!

    (edit – Though still, that sounds like a good plan. I suggest a hot chocolate in there too as it’s getting rather chilly!)

  7. October 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    coffee dates…..cheap, but then you don’t have the relaxed atmosphere alcohol adds.

  8. fuckwittery
    October 25, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Coffee dates- clinical. Painful.

  9. October 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Yep, they pretty much are gonna suck.

    • October 25, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      but they will be cheap

      • October 25, 2010 at 11:20 pm

        See, now Toast favours the coffee date on a first meet as they’re easy to escape if they’re terrible.

        Also, I should not be fed caffeine in the presence of strangers.

  10. October 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    crash gallery openings or magazine launches – there’s one somewhere on brick lane or clerkenwell practically every day – free wine and you get to laugh at the hipsters!

    • October 25, 2010 at 11:22 pm

      I need insider tips Jenny! Usually I struggle with galleries if you have to speak in hushed tones (due to being a bit of a deaf)… however add booze, lively chat and ridiculous hipsters and I’m THERE!!!

  11. October 26, 2010 at 7:15 am

    http://www.artsjobs.org.uk/arts-news-listings/ is one good place to look, tho you might not get the private view invites – google any show and you can find the details.
    personally, i prefer the crowd at illustration events so good people to keep an eye on are indie cool publishers like http://www.nobrow.net/2223 and http://www.concretehermit.com/gallery/

    here’s a painting one i found for next week http://www.coningsbygallery.com/future_copy.asp?id=236

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

