Home > Adventures in Dating > Some dates, a girl and milk

Some dates, a girl and milk

Toast

This is going to be a sort of mult-update. Lots of things have happened, and I’ve been very lax in updating the blog. Hopefully this post will bring everyone up to speed. Are we sitting comfortably? Yes? Then I shall begin.

Work and moving
I’m back in London settled in a house with Biscuit and we’ve even started running in the mornings.

My new job is amazing, utterly amazing. I can’t give away too many details for fear of outing myself but I can’t believe I’m being paid to go there.

I also sit about three metres away from Mia, which is good and bad.

I found her terribly distracting for the first couple of days but now I’ve basically calmed down and I’m working fine.

She is terribly charming though, as are many other women in the office. A chap could get himself into a lot of trouble there.

I will try to resist.

Date report – Fez mark 2
I’ve been trying to spend less time messaging people and more time dating them. What I mean by this is go fairly briskly from initial contact to meeting up for a drink.

This is good because it leaves lots of things to talk about on the first date.  It also avoids the trap of thinking someone is great online, but when you meet them you find out it isn’t going to work.

Also known as ‘your picture is a decade old and you smell of wet dog.’

This date didn’t smell of wet dog, but she was basically The Fez with slightly different hair.

She had exactly the same job and I think they might actually do some work together. I’m pretty sure the companies they both work for co-ordinate on projects.

I didn’t want to date the Fez again and so the date was a very brief drink and I skipped off into the night.

This is the sort of thing that can be avoided by a bit more investigation before the date.

Marriage percentage = 5%

Cocktails with the Mermaid
The ex-blogger formally known as Fuckwittery invited me out for cocktails with the Mermaid and her. Scalene came along too.

It was very jolly. We drank lots of cocktails laughed and then went for a very drunken chinese meal.

It was an excellent goodbye to the Mermaid. I didn’t kiss her as we parted because we had company and it would have been a bit weird.

We will however go for drinks when she gets back, in five months time. Gah.

I won’t do a percentage because it wasn’t really a date, it was a load of people going out and having fun and it was totally worth the hangover  the next day.

Future prospects
I don’t actually have anything lined up. I’ve got various lunches and catchings up with people I’ve not seen in ages, which will be lovely but these last few weeks have been a bit manic.

Of course I am in London so I could bump into the woman of my dreams at any moment. She is probably in the corner shop right now.

Which reminds me, we are out of milk…

  1. L.A.
    November 10, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    you remind me of tucker max, thought less horrible and with a much better end result.

  2. November 11, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    So glad you love the new job! We all have great new jobs!! We are taking over the world soon, right? Just getting our collective forces aligned….

    Love that both of you are in London now. Dating scene will catch fire. Let the real games begin! ;)

  3. Fuckwittery
    November 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    *makes another plug for FW’s list of proposed dating challenges*

  4. November 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    L.A. – I don’t know who Tucker Max is, but being ‘less horrible’ is nice. Glad you are enjoying the blog.

    Wicked Shawn – The job is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. Now I just need to get fired up on the dates again. I just need to find some suitable candidates.

    FW – They weren’t challenges, just a list of ‘things to do to bring you shame’

    • fuckwittery
      November 11, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      I think you should let the voting public decide such things.

  5. November 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I don’t have a new job (but at least I still HAVE a job). Toast is planing to find me some excellent ‘job’ with the kind of perks he now has access to. Admittedly I could have been looking over the last couple of months but I have been busy spending all my money instead.

    Oops!

  6. November 12, 2010 at 3:46 am

    Biscuit, darling, we can’t take over the world until you and Scalene find new jobs. The american cousins have done our part, now you boys need to do yours.

    Toast, public humiliation via the voting public is what we have Scalene’s blog for, once he decides to start back up.

  1. April 29, 2011 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

