Home > Adventures in Dating > I just called to say… “it’s not you, it’s me”

I just called to say… “it’s not you, it’s me”

Biscuit

I have just had the phone call with Elizabeth that I have been dreading. She asked if I was free to meet up so I couldn’t dodge it any more.

I got so stressy about it that I had to actually make a list of bullet points so I didn’t just start saying words out of my facehole without knowing what they were. Here’s what I was working to:

  • Hi
  • Thanks for joke
  • How was your day? (mine was pretty hectic)
  • Thought it best to call
  • Thanks for coming Tuesday
  • It was fun
  • I know it’s a cliché but I’m just not feeling chemistry
  • Sorry
  • Kit Kat

This masterpiece of oratorial planning took about 1o minutes to come up with. That’s how much I was dreading it. We chatted about everything else I could manage before I really had to bite the bullet.

Actually, she was absolutely fine about it. Or at least, if she DID run off after and eat a tub of ice cream whilst watching Bridget Jones’s Diary, she certainly gave no hint of that.

I think that in all of this I most appreciate being able to talk about difficult things with a girl who can behave like a grown up. She thanked me for being so honest.

I think that peace and order is now restored to the world. Toast does not look like a bad man for saying I am a good egg and there should be no social awkwardness if we’re all in the same place socially in the future.

…as long as I don’t get drunk and kiss someone in front of her.

  1. November 13, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    Oh god, if only all blokes were as upfront, dear Biccy.

  2. November 15, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Well it’s just basic courtesy. If it wasn’t for the fact that she was a friend of a friend, I would still have taken the time to set things straight, although it ordinarily would have been via text if it was after only 1 date.

    Is that really such unusual behaviour in chaps? I don’t know, I’ve never dated any.

  3. November 17, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Do check this out on how women view male behaviour – one of the greatest blogs EVER.

    http://todgertalk.blogspot.com/search/label/Something%20For%20The%20Ladies

  4. November 17, 2010 at 4:38 am

    Your such a doll, Biscuit! Next blog for you is the one where you give lessons to American cads!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

