Home > Adventures in Dating > The girl is fascinating, but that doesn’t mean she is good news

The girl is fascinating, but that doesn’t mean she is good news

Toast

I walked through the misty streets of London. Hustlers and tourists bounced off each other as I headed for the train home. The train to safety. My mind was reeling. Not from the cheap wine, not from the cheap whiskey although it had  taken the edge off the world.

I’d kissed her, Mia, the dame who lured me back to London, on the lips. It was a goodbye, at the end of an interesting night. Nothing too brisk but more than was required. I was a little shocked, enough to make me blink.

As I got on the tube I thought back a few hours to try to work out how this happened.

We were in a bar, there was a contest going on. Six of us from work were there. Six brave souls on a chilly Monday night with nothing planned apart from self-destruction.

Mia was there, we were both drunk from winning the contest and the free-flowing liquor. To win the contest we had pretended to be married, it made sense at the time.

She was leaning on me as we drank more. There was subtle touching going on, nothing overt just more than was required. Occasionally she would lean into me a little with her hips. The air tingled with something, something unwise but tempting all the same. I thought back a few hours to try to work out how this happened.

We had just arrived in the bar. I knew a couple of people on the table, but most were strangers. Mia wasn’t going to be joining us, but people were sending her messages to get her to come down. She turned up after just enough resistance to make it seem like we had earned it.

We drank slugs of fortified wine and chatted. I’d been out with work people before, but not with her yet. It was our first chat outside of the office.

We talked of little things, and then as the booze kicked in more serious, interesting things. I’m not sure how the subject came up but I said I wasn’t in a relationship.

She was confused, someone at work, a guy who works for me had told her I was. We laughed. I said I was free and single. We both drank and laughed. A laugh with hidden meanings, filled with ‘oh really?’ and ‘Gee that’s interesting’. I thought back a few days to try to work out how this happened.

It was my first night out with work. I sat down with one the guys who works for me. Drinking had begun well before the final whistle of the day and so in the pub we had reached the point of dangerous honesty.

“Who do you fancy in the office then? Who is your top three?” He asked.

“Mia,” I said, “The probably The Doll and The Glasses.”

“Oh really, that’s interesting, not The Hair?”

“No, I don’t do blondes.”

“Well watch out for Mia, she is a bit mad.”

“How so?”

“You’ll find out, just watch out.”

I thought on this, Mia wasn’t there so I couldn’t find out more. I thought back to try to work out how this happened.

I was at a party. There was a girl I remembered the face, but couldn’t place the name. I thought back to try to work out how this happened.

There was an awards party months earlier. I picked up an award and a girl on a nearby table caught my eye. She was pretty, pretty enough to make me walk over and strike up a conversation. The place was so loud I didn’t quite catch her name. There was something about her that was very intriguing. 

That’s how it happened.

  1. November 23, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Why am I more confused after reading this instead of less confused? Are you trying to be mysterious, Toast? Nice prose. The way it is written is very engaging.
    Be very careful though, now that you have put it out there on the netz that you don’t do blondes, the blondes will be coming out of the woodwork, trying to prove to you they are worthy of your love and affection. ;)

  2. November 23, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    how similar is she to the Virginian? Mentally I mean. In my mind they’re identical, whch doesn’t bode well (but then you’ve not given us much to go on)

    If it’s an office romance you’re intending to embark on, it has to be pretty…. stable and gentle. Unless of course she has plans to move on? ENCOURAGE HER TO MOVE JOBS. It’s the only way.

  3. November 23, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    WickedShawn – I was playing about with format because I thought it deserved it. Blondes are lovely, but Brunettes are just enchanting. I’m wired up that way.

    Machecazzo (am I allowed to say your other name) – Not at all similar, actually today I was in the pub and some other people said she wasn’t mad at all, just ‘a girl’ and that ‘girls do stuff like that some times.’

  4. November 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    yeah call me what you want. wordpress just wouldn’t let me use fuckwittery after deleting the blog, which was inconvenient. Call me fred if that’s easier. I like that name.

    Girls do stuff like what? go mental?

  5. November 24, 2010 at 11:08 am

    As a brunette, I am always charmed when someone says they prefer us to the fair-headed girls. *points*

    The picture helped, too. It immediately puts the reader in the right frame of mind. Most excellent! :)

  1. November 27, 2010 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

