Home > Adventures in Dating > Dating as friends, is it shame or progress?

Dating as friends, is it shame or progress?

Toast

My continuing, dangerous and ill-advised (even my Mum wouldn’t approve) interest in Mia continues.

She was a bit of a weird mood on Friday, but I was very busy so there wasn’t a lot of time for silliness. It late transpired that she hadn’t slept very well the night before for various personal reasons. She did make a point of having a word with herself to cheer up. That’s quite admirable.

The large amounts of mulled wine probably helped too.

We ended up in the pub after work with the rest of the people from the paper. It’s a tradition and it tends to cause some sort of event, although typically the event is ‘everyone gets terribly drunk’.

I didn’t get to have ‘a chat’ with Mia until way into the evening because people get getting in the way and I didn’t want it to be obvious you know?

Anyway after I’d had a bit too much to drink we finally had a moment to talk.

I said I’d like to take her out to supper to a restaurant, and that I’d found an excellent place.

She said yes but ‘as friends’. I said that was fine, lets just see how things go. She was excited by the choice of restaurant I’d picked out – Smiths of Smithfield

It wasn’t quite the outcome I would have liked, but it wasn’t ‘no fuck off’ either. On Monday we will go out and we shall see what happens won’t we? I think I should see how this meal goes and take a view on the whole situation.

Honestly it’s getting a bit ridiculous now. If this was a TV show I’d be moaning that the writers are trying to stretch this out a bit too far.

The most annoying thing about the whole affair is that all the other women at the paper are constantly going on about how they would like to date me (including a couple of lesbians) and yet the one I’ve got my eye on seems to be immune to my charms.

Maybe it’s time to break out the sexy dance.

I am Toast, and I get myself into very stupid situations again and again, and again.

Leave a Reply

