Home > Adventures in Dating > Gauguin, Dim Sum and the Tate

Gauguin, Dim Sum and the Tate

Toast

I’ve recently rejoined a dating website. It was a website that introduced me to The Fez, as well as a couple of other fairly serious girlfriends. It’s one of those sites where it is free to look but if you want to actually talk to people you have to pay.

The plan was to browse a bit over Christmas and maybe ask some people out in the New Year. I have a wager to win after all.

This website lets you add people to your favourites, and they are alerted when you do so. It’s the Internet equivalent of catching someones eyes in a bar. Or that is how I think of it.

Shortly after re-joining this very pretty girl added me to her favourites.

 She sounded really interesting, looked pleasingly kooky in her photographs and was also quite tall. I’m under-playing this a bit really, she was so interesting that within about a minute of finding out she had added me to her favourites I was upgrading to a full account so I could message her.

Messages were exchanged, and a meeting was suggested and I spent rather too much of the weekend looking forward to our date.

 I was a little bit late because I had to change my outfit three times to find something that worked, and even then I left the house in something that wasn’t warm enough but looked good.

The plan was to meet for a hot chocolate, the best hot chocolate in London and then see how things went from there. I arrived 15 minutes late because of the outfit issues and she was waiting outside.

 The hot chocolate place didn’t really have anywhere to sit so I suggested we amble over to the Tate and so we walked and talked.

She was half Swedish and half Indian, tall with long dark hair and dark brown eyes combined with a slightly cheeky smile.

Her accent was mostly Californian but every now and there would be a hint of a Swedish. It was utterly beguiling, the way a woman talks is almost one of the most important things to me and she had the charm in bucket loads.

She was also extremely smart and writes for a well-known science magazine about really grown up things. It would be an understatement to say I was impressed by her.

A massive understatement.

The walk to the Tate was lovely, frosty and revealing. We swapped housemate stories, talked about California and the quirks of Londoners. When we arrived at the gallery I noticed that the Gauguin exhibit was still going. I’d wanted to see it months ago when The Teacher stood me up so I suggested it, she agreed.

I bought us tickets and we went through the exhibit. We alternated between making insightful commentary on art and silly quips. It was a very giggly visit to the gallery. We both picked out our favourite pictures and decided that Gauguin was probably a bit of a nightmare to know.

After the exhibition we got some drinks and chatted for a while with views of the Thames. We talked about jobs, hopes and plans for the future it was quite grown up. I mentioned I had a party I was going to go to in the evening and said she would be welcome to join me. She said yes and so we went off in search of food.

After a short and very chilly walk we ended up in Ping Pong eating dim-sum and talking about the dating book The Game, a mutual love of hot food,  relationships and family backgrounds. I revealed quite a lot for a first date which is unusual for me. We split the bill, hopped onto the tube and then ambled down Regent’s Street to go to the party in a private members club.

Max Factor were launching their new face of one of their ranges of make-up. The face came out, gave a short gig and then disappeared. We watched,  drank free wine and played with the fake diamonds that were scattered all over the bar.

At about 8 she said she had to go (she had mentioned earlier in the date she was supposed to be exchanging Christmas presents with flatmates) and so we left the party before the goodie bags had even been made up. We saw what was in them, and since neither of us had a burning desire for blue eyeliner we left into the night.

We said goodbye at the Tube and she said she would text me. I don’t have her number so I must wait now to see if she will. Waiting is painful. I won’t give her a name unless she text messages me.

I’d love to see her again, she is probably my favourite so far.

Marriage percentage: 35%

Lessons learned:
Gauguin was a very messed up puppy but he did do some nice paintings.
Giggly dates at the Tate are always a win.
Unless a girl grabs my leg, or sexually assaults me I have no idea if she is interested or not.
Waiting for someone to text is painful.

  1. Tom
    December 21, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    Wow, sometimes I can be really cynical. I read that waiting for the line where you find out that she’s employed by the dating website to encourage people to pay for the full service.

    Fingers crossed you’re onto a winner instead!

  2. December 21, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    This post made me grin. I like the sound of it. Good heavens, you’ve been busy!

  3. December 22, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Tom – Heh, I hope you are wrong, she still hasn’t sent me a text message and it’s now three days later. *trying not to care face*

    Texting Mr Darcy – Yes, well a chap trying to meet his future wife can’t sit around at home.

  4. annpersand
    January 5, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Hello toast!

    Not that I’m missing the point or anything, but I was wondering if you might be able to tell me where to find the best hot chocolate in London? I would quite like to go find it. Also I live very close to the Tate Modern so am simultaneously disappointed by my own lack of local knowledge and excited about the prospect of something so wonderful being so close…

    *insert generic but sincere compliment about the awesomeness of your blog here*

    • January 5, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      Erm let me find the place.

      Konditor & Cook
      22 Cornwall Road
      London SE1 8TW

      It was good but not life changing. I think I might make the quest for the perfect hot chocolate a New Years resolution thingy.

  1. December 29, 2010 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

