Home > Challenges > Toast’s personal challenge: Avoid getting a girlfriend before the New York trip

Toast’s personal challenge: Avoid getting a girlfriend before the New York trip

Toast

The USA Trip has been announced. It would be an understatement to say we are all pretty excited. I’m also a little worried.

I have a bad habit when it comes to trips to America.

For some reason almost every trip to America (apart from my first trip to the states) has involved:

1) The very beginning or end of a relationship: The sort of awkward point where you aren’t sure if you are officially going out or not but you are pretty sure you shouldn’t kiss other people. The vague bit.
2) Travelling without the person involved in the fragile relationship.

This means that if you meet someone amazing in America nothing can happen and you have to say things like ‘Yes you are lovely, and normally I’d love to but sadly I’m sort of seeing someone, and I want to see how it plays out.’

All this good behaviour typically is rewarded by a good solid dumping on my return to England.

 I’m not joking, last time I went away a relationship was pretty much collapsing.

I behaved myself the whole time, even when my chum B tried to set me up with someone lovely in Vegas.

I returned laden with a plethora of exiting, thoughtful gifts from America for the sort-of-girlfriend and she dumped me.

She had been dating some man while I was away (and snogging him) and yet somehow that was my fault.

There are other examples, but that is the most recent one.

So my challenge for the next few weeks is to avoid getting into a relationship. I know this is slightly against the spirit of the wager but it is so I can date properly when we are all in New York.

Biscuit thinks I’ll fail.

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    January 9, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Why? Who is in the firing line?

    • January 9, 2011 at 9:53 am

      No-one, but I just have, well I have form with these sorts of things.

  2. JK
    January 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    So who is the winner? I think marriage is a great thing. Relying on that you are a family man.

  1. January 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm
  2. January 31, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

