Home > Adventures in Dating > Two girls one cup (of hot chocolate)

Two girls one cup (of hot chocolate)

Toast

I know that technically I’m not supposed to be dating to avoid getting caught up with someone just before I go to America. However things haven’t quite worked out like that. I had two first dates last weekend and I’m probably going to have another two next weekend. Not because I’m a man-slut, but because well. Let me explain

1) The Brazilian
I was planning on a quiet night in because I was exhausted from work and all that. However I did happen to have OkCupid on my laptop and it suddenly pinged into life.

A girl I’d chatted to very briefly had got back in contact. She said she was back in the country. I congratulated her on sorting out her Visa and she asked me out for a drink. I asked if she was talking about now.

 She said yes and an hour later (time for a shower and travel) we met up in the centre of London outside a coffee shop.

She was tall with dark hair and described herself as ‘Being Brazilian but looking Japanese’. She did.

She was wearing very tight grey jeans, with knee-high grey boots and a woolly top. She was wearing about six coats – she was still re-adjusting to the climate in England.

We ended up going for a coffee because she didn’t drink and I always feel a bit weird drinking if the other person doesn’t. Although I don’t drink caffeine so it ended up being a hot chocolate.

We talked about the differences between London and Brazil, films, pets and great places to eat. She had come back to England to open an art gallery. We talked about art for a long time.

After a couple of hours it was time to get the tube home so we walked off into the night. We said a brief goodbye and I disappeared underground. The conversation had been okay but not amazing. Just sort good with no real ‘wow that’s amazing I’m just the same moments.’

I didn’t think she would contact me again but the next day she texted asking for a reminder of the films I had recommended and asking when my next stand-up gig was. I wonder if she will appear. This may be a slow burner thing.

Marriage percentage – 15% – Not real sparkle but nice enough and the well co-ordinated boots and trousers combination was impressive.

2) The Consultant
Sunday was another date day, this time for a mid-afternoon coffee. This girl contacted me and we had exchanged a few messages before she suggested we meet for a drink.

We met in Angel, I was a little early, she was a little late. She was in a surprisingly slinky dress, with a sort of lace bit that made it slightly more risqué than it first appeared to be. She was short but in amazing shape with, you guessed it long black hair (I am assuming you all know my type by now) and a rather cheeky smile.

We went to a coffee place nearby and had hot chocolate with far too much cream on top. She was very easy to talk to, and had lots of interesting views and had travelled everywhere. We talked about misadventures, writing, clothes breaking and quality underwear.

About halfway through the coffee I suggested we go and see  a film she said yes but couldn’t go today. So we had red velvet cake instead. It was very good but also strange, the flavour of the cake I mean.

After a few hours we parted ways. I had really enjoyed talking to her. The only awkward bit was I went for a double *mwah* and I think I caught her off-guard. Whoops.

Marriage percentage – 25% – A good date. She was interesting, pretty and wore a nice frock. I’m a man of simple needs.

She texted me the next day and we are going to go and see Black Swan on Wednesday. Yes I’m aware it’s probably not a traditional date movie but thems the breaks.

Expect more reports to follow.

  1. Poof
    January 25, 2011 at 2:19 am

    i think you need to hold out until you hop the pond.
    i would put LA at an easy 65% with her quick wit and charm. not to mention her boots and “trousers” are probably a lot hotter than whatsherface ;)

    • January 25, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      I think we need to test this.

  2. annpersand
    January 25, 2011 at 10:56 am
  3. January 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Annpersand – Exactly like that Ron Swanson is an inspiration to us all. I love Parks and Recreation, and I do also like breakfast food.

  4. January 26, 2011 at 1:06 am

    AH HAHAHA!!! Anpersand, That’s excellent! Truly wonderful.
    *wipes tear of joy from eye*

  5. January 28, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    My cohort makes a brilliant point. I do have excellent boots.

  1. April 23, 2011 at 11:54 am

Leave a Reply

