Home > Adventures in Dating > I love New York: part 2

I love New York: part 2

Toast

The day started with a hangover, the likes of which I’d never experienced before. There was pain, so much pain.

There was also a lot of snow but that didn’t stop us going out to experience the town.

It was terribly exciting strolling around New York, it’s just so New Yorky.

We found a cowboy boot shop that I am definitely going back to on pay day. I need some cowboy boots, I can’t explain why. I just need them.

Our day involved a lot of walking around and as getting darker, dates.

Biscuit had a date arranged with a girl we met on Sunday night and MyLoveLifeInYourHands was off to DC for reason that are impossible to explain.

After lunch MyLoveLifeInYourHands had to go off and catch a bus,  so Biscuit and I went to a bar that a girl from OkCupid recommended. This was a girl who had got in contact that very morning so her recommendation was a bit of a test

The bar was excellent, and the most expensive second lunch I’d had in my life. It was totally worth it though.  After the food and booze Biscuit left for his date and I was left me alone, strolling around the city a bit drunk. It was okay for a bit, I visited some amazing shops but soon it got really cold.

Originally I had plans to visit a couple of friends in the evening but they had both been struck down with cooties/lurgy (They don’t live together or anything) so I had a free evening in New York on my own. I was a bit nervous about this but I’m a big boy and I was sure an adventure would be found.

I was tramping around the city when my phone buzzed and a girl on OkCupid got in contact again asking how the bar was. I said it had been lovely and thanked her. This transformed into arranging to meet in a bar in Williamsburg that very evening. New York is good like that.

A bimbled back to the flat, grabbed something to eat and put on some more clothes. It was very, very cold. I was wearing what would be three outfits on a normal day. After a short subway ride and a bit of standing around looking lost I found the pub. It was called Gypsy Bar it was a classy sort of place, understated and cool.

There girl was there waiting by the bar, she was tall and slim with straight red hair and dark brown eyes. Her eyes were really expressive so she looked like a deer in headlights when she was shocked by something I said.

She had an accent a bit like Marisa Tomei in My Cousin Vinny which I found almost painfully charming. ‘Marisa’ was wearing a black top with black trousers. New Yorkers wear a lot of black.

Conversation was easy and we drank a load of different beers talking about all sorts of things. I explained to her how amazing Big Fat Gypsy Weddings was and she tried to make me understand was a s’more was. I didn’t really get it, so she resolved to make me some.

We needed sticks to do it properly. So we found a nearby tree and I lifted her up into the air while she scrabbled to pull a branch off the tree. Then I tried getting a branch by jumping and grabbing.

That sort of worked, but the twig-branches were amazingly strong so I was left suspended from the tree on a street in Brooklyn, spinning slowly in the wind. Who knows what anyone watching would have thought of it all.

Eventually Marisa ended with up with a bag filled of sticks and we walked to a bar she knew called the Manhattan Inn for a drink as a reward for our hard work.

I ordered a Manhattan and she had a Dirty Martini. For some reason I had thought that a Manhattan was a Cosmo, it’s not. A Cosmo is a little fruity number that doesn’t really taste of booze. A Manhattan is like a tasty punch in the mouth. I got drunk, very drunk.

Marisa spilled a bit of her drink and we didn’t have anything to mop it up with. Thinking it was a gentlemanly thing to do, I offered to clean up the mess with a dollar bill. I mean it’s only 60 pence so that’s not real money anyway. She got a bit prickly, but only for a moment.

There was more nonsense taking. We were so drunk by the end of the cocktails that we decided we needed a cheese sandwich. A deli was open and so we went there got sandwiches and crisps. We and ended up back at her place. It was a flat, I don’t remember that much of it because I was ruinously drunk. Apparently she has three room mates. I don’t know if I met them.

I stayed the night. Nothing rude happened, but there may have been a bit of kissing, but that was it. It was a little weird, because only a few hours earlier she was a complete stranger and now she had seen me in my underpants. New York eh?

In the morning we hopped on the subway together with coffee from the deli and said goodbye with vague plans for doing something else before we left.

She was fun, although I did realise on the walk home that she was basically the Virginian but slightly taller. At least she didn’t kick me out of bed at 3am though.

Marriage percentage: 20% – A large part of that is due to My Cousin Vinny. 

I still don’t know what a s’more is.

  1. fleetstreetfox
    February 25, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    AWWWWW! I like thinking of you stuck in a tree.

  2. Ms. L
    February 25, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    You don’t know what a s’more is? I feel like a bad American friend.http://www.wikihow.com/Make-a-Smore. See, you need a campfire, so you couldn’t have actually made one.

    Also, if you find that accent charming, you should head to New Jersey. You’ll fall in love with everyone there.

  3. February 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    sounds like a fun night

  4. February 26, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Foxypants – Now I wish someone had taken a photo, who knows it might be on some security camera somewhere.

    Ms. L – I think I need to be shown how to make a s’more by an American. I’d hate to make it wrong.

    Trinity River – It was fun, every night in New York has been fun. Exhausting, expensive fun.

  1. February 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm
  2. March 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

