Home > Adventures in Dating > I love New York: part 3

I love New York: part 3

Toast

During the day New York continued to amaze and impress us.

We played on the giant piano from Big ($250,000 if you want your own), ate knishes (I’m going to miss them) and had conversations with complete strangers (about all sorts of things).

In the evening I’d arranged to do a ‘trivia night’ (pub quiz) with another girl off OkCupid, one that I’d been speaking to for a month or so.

Biscuit and I arrived at the pub early. It was called Common Ground and was pleasingly New Yorky. It had a long wide bar with polished rails and some tellys showing sports. When we arrived it was empty so we took up a place by the bar and ordered some beers.

I emailed the girl to say that we were early and to just say hello when she got in. Twenty minutes later I got a message back saying she was there. We turned around and they were sat behind us. She had brought a chum along.

The girl looked like a far more glamorous version of Blossom from the hit 90s TV show Blossom. Except she was wearing the regulation New York uniform of all black. Her chum looked exactly, I mean exactly, like a younger version of Marcy from Californication. She was also wearing black.

We had a few drinks, talked about places to visit. They were impressed by the bar that Biscuit and I had been to for second lunch and suggested a couple more places for us to go.

Some of ‘Blossom’s’ chums turned up for the pub quiz who were all excellent fellows apart from one of them, who was acting a bit weirdly and kept having whispery conversations with ‘Marcy’ at the bar.

Biscuit made balloon shapes for everyone to wear, which went down really well. Soon our entire team were sporting a range of balloon hats, glasses and swords.

Just before the quiz started, MyLoveLifeInYourHands turned up. There was a huge cheer and he told us all about his trip to DC. We got more drinks in and settled into the quiz. Blossom moved so she was stood next to MyLoveLifeInYourHands and they chatted away.

We did pretty well at the quiz until there was a round on Baseball and we walked out in protest over that.

Also we wanted to get some food. The slightly grumpy friend had left at this point, but was having a long text conversations with Marcy, who was ruinously drunk.

The next bar was a painfully cool jazz place. We sat on a low table. I was next to Marcy, who was constantly lit up by the screen of her phone and MyLoveLifeInYourHands was sat next to Blossom.

Biscuit was sat in front of us all and fading fast. I’ve never seen someone go from normal to broken so fast.

We ordered drinks and then were told that the kitchen was closed. We drank the drinks. MyLoveLifeInYourHands quizzed Marcy about the constantly texting.

Apparently the grumpy friend was sort of seeing her but had felt really threatened by three bumbling British types, yes the mind boggles, and so had stormed off into the night.

After the drinks we grabbed a cab home. Cabs are way cheaper in New York.

Marriage percentage: 10%, she was fun, but I suspect she has designs on MyLoveLifeInYourHands…

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    February 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Ha! Amazeballs! Xx

  2. February 26, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    NYC girls = not doing so hot on the % meter.

    Not like Biscuit’s super high too quickly judged ladies that Toast posts on twitter.

    I think you’d rather the city instead of it’s ladies…

    You should try Chicago next time ;)

  3. February 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Eyebrows – Just wait till you read what happened next. It’s even more shocking!

    L.A – I’m not including the extra 25% they get for being American, and to be fair that last one didn’t do too well because well she was clearly into MyLoveLifeInYourHands which is a bit of a mood killer.

    • February 26, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      Positive of your comment:

      25% for Americans

      Negative of your comment:

      – FACT. No one wants someone that’s into their friend instead of them.

      The last time that happened with me, I was the friend that was wanted and I went home with a man on a motorcycle…

      Here’s the karma: that man on a motorcycle is now engaged to my best friend’s husband’s ex… Who clearly is not me.

      • March 5, 2011 at 12:54 pm

        What happened to the motorcycle?

      • March 8, 2011 at 5:34 pm

        He took it with him. I’m very sad.

        I have to find a new friend with a motorcycle now, because I think I liked the bike almost as much as the man.

  4. March 3, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I feel rather bad for the last one. Choosing between the three of you would be IMPOSSIBLE!! She should get some sort of +/- for having the good sense to at least chat one of you up and not someone from another group.

  5. March 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I was tired and not out looking for eligible ladies so that gave the other two a chance. ;)

  6. March 4, 2011 at 12:31 am

    They were spared…….so kind of you to take a night off and give them a fighting chance. ;-)

  7. March 4, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Well never let it be said that I’m not a sporting chap!

    I’m still amused, in a removed third party way, at my own antics.

    I’m often utterly bewieldered at how most of the kissing happens.

  8. March 4, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Let the record state that I am terribly sad that I was not included in the NYC festivities.

    And to think MyLoveLife passed RIGHT BY me on his way to meet you boys in the big apple. Oh the sorrow!

    • March 5, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      TxtingMrDarcy – Next time? Although it won’t be for a bit, I’ll be paying off that last trip for a while.

      • March 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm

        I supppoooooose. I’ll try to forgive you.

        Although… a little birdie says that I may be heading YOUR way (or at least part way there) in the not so distant future!

  9. March 7, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Part of the way there? What, the Atlantic?
    I hear it’s pretty wet this time of year.

  1. March 3, 2011 at 11:10 pm
  2. March 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Leave a Reply

