Home > Adventures in Dating > I love New York: part 4

I love New York: part 4

Toast

It was Friday so we decided to see some more sights in Manhattan and then meet up with a few people in the evening.

MyLoveLifeInYourHands wanted to see as many people as possible so the evening was mapped out very carefully.

The plan was to get an early drink with Blossom and her chums in Brooklyn, then bounce over to Soho where we could meet up with Marisa and an old friend of mine.

We ‘grabbed a slice’ before wandering around looking faintly lost while we tried to find the bar. After only a couple of wrong turns we found the right place

Blossom was there with one of her male chums we had met before. It was a classy place and everyone was drinking wine which felt strangely sophisticated compared to the events of the last week.

One bottle turned into a few. More fun people turned up and soon we were bring pressed pretty hard to stay with them and go to a BBQ place for supper.

Biscuit had made a new friend, they went out for a smoke (him was just keeping her company) and when they came back they announced they were getting married.

In light of this big announcement we gave in and ambled over to the BBQ place. I got some booze and MyLoveLifeInYourHands waited in the queue for food with Blossom chatting away.

Once we had some drinks we (the other chums) had to hang around waiting for a free table for us to take. It was like musical chairs but while carrying a gallon of cider. Musical chairs should always be played with a gallon of cider.

Eventually we grabbed a big enough table just before MyLoveLifeInYourHands ordered. It was perfect timing really.

There was a mass scrum to sit down and I ended up sat in the corner, next to Biscuit and his new wife.

They were secretly holding hands under the table, which made me suspect that their ‘marriage’ had a bit more too it than just a throw-away joke.

I’ve known Biscuit for a while but I’ve never seen him move so fast, they had known each other for hours. I think we can all guess which way this story is going.

Opposite me were MyLoveLifeInYourHands and Blossom who had been glued at the hip all evening. I was right on the end so I ended up having a conversation with a man with a massive beard, and then sitting in silence. It was an evening of awkward moments.

Biscuit and his new friend had started snogging at the table. Marcy turned up with some other people and apologised for texting while drunk last time we were out.

Everyone had finished stuffing amazing meat in their mouths so we stumbled on to another bar for more drinks.

The crowd thinned out a bit and so I was left making awkward conversation with a man who lived in a car while MyLoveLifeInYourHands and Blossom chatted away furiously. Biscuit and his ‘wife’ left for ‘a walk’ and we didn’t see them again for the rest of the evening.

We went onto another bar because it had old arcade machines. The crowd thinned some more.

Blossom and MyLoveLifeInYourHands were playing games with each other on the machines. I was struggling to keep the conversation going with the ‘living in the car guy’. There is only so much you can talk about the freedom of the open road and getting good miles to the gallon on your house.

This went on for a while before I thought I’d just bow out and get a cab home. I said goodbye to MyLoveLifeInYourHands and Blossom and jumped in a cab. I didn’t see MyLoveLifeInYourHands until the next day either.

The cab dropped me off at the end of our block and I got to witness a rolling street fight between a group of youths. It was quite exciting. I was a bit worried at first, I was drunk, wearing a waistcoat and a pink tie but they acted as if I was a ghost and just ignored me.

It had been another exciting evening, although one where I had felt a bit like a third wheel. I think I should have gone into Soho, but regrets are for other people.

The chaps had fun and I did get to swig from a gallon jug of cider so in balance I’d call that a win.

  1. March 7, 2011 at 3:53 am

    You didnt want to talk to someone who lived in their car?!

    I bet if you’d offered him a roof, he would have married you.

  2. March 9, 2011 at 12:14 am

    My favourite part of your experience is still the street fight. It was probably easier to block you out of their minds than confront the incongruous reality of what they were seeing.

  3. March 11, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    L.A. He was perfectly charming to talk to for an hour or so, but after about four hours we had run out of things to say to each other.

    • L.A.
      March 12, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      Well, it’s just as well. I can’t imagine that someone who lived in his car smelled very good.

  1. March 9, 2011 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

