Home > Adventures in Dating > Getting engaged to an American

Getting engaged to an American

Biscuit

Friday in New York, New York was almost Friday in Reno, Nevada. After MyLoveLifeInYourHands dashed off to Washington DC for reasons only understood by him, I felt inspired to pursue a similarly whimsical folly. So, goaded into action by the other two, I attempted to jet off to the other side of the country for hangouts (not sexy hangouts, just hangouts) with  a pink-haired girl I’m chums with as a result of too many hours online Xbox play. Sadly I was foiled by a sudden increase in airfare so I was left with the slightly more sensible, but no less enjoyable, option of another night in NYC.

As Toast mentioned, we met Blossom and her chums for another drink. As with last time I was not exac ly on top form but was also sat on the end of a long table and all the conversation was directed away from me. This meant that, in combination with the background music and being a deafo, I basically couldn’t follow any of what was being said and so resigned myself to appearing antisocial.

When more of Blossom’s friends turned up I found myself sat opposite a girl with a lovely soft accent and next to the man who lived in a car (who I thought he was quite interesting) who had both turned up together. I assumed they were an item and so made great pains to chat to the car man so he did not think I was hitting on his lady.

After a bit, however, I got the distinct impression that they weren’t together at all. The girl was explaining to me exactly what a midwestern accent was. Apparently it’s so bizarre that the people in the American meeja never let the outside world hear it as I had NEVER heard this accent before. Thankfully it was very soft in her speech as she had lost the most obvious elements and sounded delicious. As she was talking to me I realised she was leaning forward a little, making lots of eye contact and playing with her hair a little.

I also realised that she had very kissable lips.

‘The Midwesterner’ was very sharp with her witticisms but also very kind in nature and had quite an interesting and responsible job. Conversation with her more than made up for whatever I appeared to be missing out on at the other end of the table. She also had a beautifully soft face with a kind smile and keenly intelligent eyes.

I opted to keep her company for a smoke under the guise that the place was too warm and making me sleepy. In truth however I was intrigued and wanted to know more about her.

I decided we would get married when she declared ‘The Empire Strikes Back’ is by far the best Star Wars film. I said I loved New York and wanted to be able to stay and she said that she quite fancied spending her 30s in England.

This marriage announcement took even Toast a little by surprise.

Having decided that we would get married, we spent the rest of the night demonstrating our spousal qualities. The Midwesterner was proving to be a supportive wife and I excelled at hunter gathering by bringing a gallon of cider and huge platter of meat. There were many more details that I would love to relate to you but the gallon of cider has not helped my memory at all.

Toast thought that he had the scoop of the evening when he slyly papped a picture of us holding hands under the table, however we had already snuck a kiss in the meat queue. Hee hee!

Toast asked “so, are you going to get married then?”. I thought for a second and coyly grinned back “yes”. I later confessed to Toast that I would have gone to a 24 hour marriage place if there had been one nearby as it seemed like the most perfectly impulsive thing to do.

After a few hours of giggling, comparing life priorities and sharing cider we decided that we would actually rather go somewhere else so that we would not feel so guilty kissing at the table. Saying our goodbyes to the rest of the crowd we walked hand in hand to The Midwesterner’s place.

Some things happened but they were between a husband and wife. They were very lovely things though and I would be very pleased if she were were my wife.

In the morning I was sad to say goodbye as I knew that the likelihood is that I wouldn’t see her again that holiday and she is so lovely. I took her number and hope to stay in contact. It’s not totally unfeasible that either of us will be in the same place again in the not too distant future.

Maybe we should arrange a trip to Vegas? Star Wars wedding?

Marriage percentage 50%, though I suspect this would only go up if we spent more time together. Despite the distance, I wouldn’t say she is off the cards.

  1. March 8, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    There is probably a way to combine the star wars theme and the wedding march into one.

    • March 9, 2011 at 12:06 am

      That needs to happen.
      This is the first official Wed or Dead Wager mashup challenge! Someone, anyone, make it happen.
      *rummages around for prize*
      *pulls out incomplete jigsaw*
      *pulls out empty Kinder Egg shell*
      *pulls out three dead AAA batteries*
      ….
      I’ll say a really big ‘thanks’ to anyone who can do it!
      *hides Fabergé Egg behind back and whistles nonchalantly*

      • March 9, 2011 at 3:27 am

        I would have done it for the jigsaw puzzle, depending on the picture.

        What’s a kinder egg?

      • March 9, 2011 at 1:53 pm

        Watch out L.A. Biscuit is about to try and snog you!

      • March 9, 2011 at 10:20 pm

        *Ducks and covers while thinking that I still have no idea what a kinder egg is*

  2. March 9, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    *makes balloon hat*

    • March 9, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      I read your blog Biscuit. I know why you make balloon hats now.

  3. March 9, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    She sounds like a keeper… Wicked Shawn and I are planning the bachelor party!

  1. March 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

