Home > Adventures in Dating > Absolute power…

Absolute power…

Biscuit

Having seen Jen and had a lovely time with the dinosaurs, I still had a date arranged with the Irish Girl (who I will call Shannon). Technically this was a first date as the first time had been a chance meeting that turned into her deciding that I was her responsibility. It was a smooth move.

She had suggested an event that was part art installation, part performance, part interactive experience and all booze.

We were numbered and given fake money on entry. Apparently there was a ‘bingo wedding’ later. There was some obscure underlying game going on that we couldn’t figure out but soon discovered that we could illicitly collect more cash by sweet talking the ‘ruling elite’. Soon we were deeply embroiled in the game… or rather I was deeply embroiled. I’ve been known to be a little competitive at times. Hell, I think that’s a fair description of anyone who has a wager over who will get married first.

The second ‘Queen’ that we spoke to had a game of truth or dare going on. We didn’t dare refuse as we had no idea what sanctions might be employed. I had already seen her confiscate someone’s flag of nationality. I took a dare, which she was surprised at but there were too many awkward questions she could have asked. I was dared to sidle up to an unsuspecting woman and softly sing the first line of Lionel Richie’s ‘Hello’ into her ear… which I dutifully did.

Shannon was then dared to perform Irish dancing in front of a couple sat at the bar… however she copped out by explaining at length before not really doing any dancing. During this time I was schmoozing with the Queen for extra cash. Actually she was flirting back and was incredibly cute in her cape and faux military hat.

I then dared her to do her best dancing in the middle of the warehouse space, which she performed with flamboyance and abandon. I was impressed… and rather fancied her.

Before long I soon had more money than anyone else could possibly have had, 5 different coloured flags and a cardboard and balloon construction that was drawing envious glances and attempted thievery. I had also drunk a lot of cider. During some of this time Shannon had been happily chatting to a couple of SCUBA instructors about doing her PADI. I did hunter gather drinks too but at times she was content to let me run round on missions, slightly bemused by my behaviour.

I also found myself using any excuse to go and talk to the Queen. She knew we were on a date but was undoubtedly flirting with me as we kept having those lingering eye contact moments long after we should have been looking elsewher.

This is where I crossed a line in my mind. Between the cider, the party atmosphere, her cheeky but authoritative persona and my apparent total disregard for any good form at all, I started to try and work out how I could get her number WHILST ON A DATE WITH SOMEONE ELSE.

I’m not proud of this at all and I make no excuses. The truth of it is that the only reason I didn’t overtly try was because I wasn’t sure I could get away with it.

The stupid thing is that I actually had a great date with Shannon. She stole a royal standard and happily tolerated my exuberant excesses. She also clearly spotted that there was something going on as she put herself between me and the Queen on the dancefloor later.

To make my behaviour worse, Shannon then came and stayed at mine and there were hijinks. I walked her to the station in the morning and promised to sort out the next date, but in my heart I knew she deserved better than that kind of treatment. If I was hitting on someone else on a date with her it clearly means that:

  1. I need to SERIOUSLY re-evaluate my priorities.
  2. I’m clearly not that into her.
  3. I should save her from any of this behaviour.

I’m not quite sure how I got to this state. This is less ‘with great power comes great responsibility‘ and more ‘absolute power corrupts absolutely’.

Marriage percentage: 5%. This is entirely my fault and not hers. I had a long chat with myself after all this… but that’s another post in itself.

Bad Biscuit.

  1. March 22, 2011 at 2:44 am

    Okay darling, there is the Kissing Ninja who goes out with girls and kisses them frequently and in potentially inappropriate places, which is fabulous. Then there is bad behavior. THIS falls under Category 2. However, I totally forgive you. You recognized your behavior as unacceptable and have grown (you’ve grown from this, right???) so it is all okay now. (if you have not learned from this experience, call me and I will tell you about the night I left a party with a guy who was not my date, then returned so my date could take me home…since we were in MY car and it would have been bad form to leave him stranded…..and he was still waiting for me!!!)

  2. MrsD
    March 22, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Gosh. Do you really feel badly about this?

  3. L.A.
    March 23, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Biscuit, I’m beginning to think that you don’t want to win the wager.

    I can’t picture a wedding invitation that says:

    “You are formally invited to attend the wedding of Kissing Ninja and _______.”

    • L.A.
      March 24, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Please and thank you. After all, now that I read your blog, I do in fact, expect to be invited to a wedding.

  4. March 23, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Mrs D: atrocious and shameful. I have been doing a lot of soul searching since. I’ll write it up tomorrow.
    L.A.: Do I need to make one for you?
    Shawn: I promise I have seen the error of my ways. You, however, have some awesome stories. I NEED to hear more. FACT!

  5. eyebrowsofdoom
    March 23, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    *head. Desk.*

  6. TheKiwiBex
    March 27, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Oh, I like you Biscuit, but this one really does make you sound like a bit of a douche. Sorry :/

    • March 27, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      Oh absolutely. It was totally unacceptable behaviour.

  1. March 27, 2011 at 6:58 pm
  2. April 5, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

