Home > Adventures in Dating > Taking a wrong turn

Taking a wrong turn

Biscuit

Somewhere something has gone wrong. When we started this wager I was only really just finding my feet with women after 32 years of blundering around (well, I probably shouldn’t count the first 10 or so). Having spent most of the years since being 18 in one long term relationship or another, I never really did the wild and free behaviour that a lot of people went through in their youth. To be honest I’m not sure I could have if I’d tried as I’ve always been a bit rubbish at that sort of thing and a bit shy with girls.

Having a wager to win really focusses the mind and it’s given me the incentive to go outside my comfort zone and to really think about what I’m looking for in a partner. In this search I’ve met some great people and have kissed a lot of girls. A lot of the time I really don’t know how it happens as I doubt I could do that if it was premeditated. Much to my bewilderment it has happened a lot and I’ve generally viewed it as a good thing as I don’t have time to wait around for promising wife material to come to me.

However, on my last date with Shannon I went way too far. I crossed the line from ‘proactive’ to outright womanising. It wasn’t supposed to be like this and I’m utterly ashamed of my behaviour. I’m not entirely sure how I got here but this is not where I am supposed to be. Aside from being utterly caddish, it’s also in direct contradiction of Rule 10This is a wager between gentlemen, so gentlemanly conduct is expected.

I have done a lot of soul searching and decided that I am changing things as of now. Dating Jen and Shannon at the same time was making me feel a little uncomfortable anyway so I am going to concentrate my efforts on Jen. If I’m hitting on another girl when I’m on a date with Shannon then I guess I’m not that interested anyway so will reclaim some dignity and spare her by calling her to call things off.

There will be no more reprehensible behaviour and naughty times with anyone else are off the cards whilst I’m dating Jen. It just gets too confusing and I do rather like her so will give this the chance it deserves. I have already turned down a meet-up with a potential internet date who I suspect I would get on very well with. I thanked her for contacting me but said I was in the very early stages of ‘something’.

Maybe sometimes you have to cross a line to know it’s there. I’m not suggesting that I didn’t know that my recent behaviour was bad, just that it’s taken that to make me take a stern look at myself. I don’t want to be bad Biscuit anymore.

Lessons learned:

  • There is a fine line between being a cheeky rogue and a despicable cad.
  • I need to focus my mind and not be distracted by pretty girls or I will NEVER get married.
  • Rule 10 is very important.

Next step: date with Jen.

 

  1. Ros
    March 27, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I am very very proud of you, Biscuit :-)

    • March 28, 2011 at 12:19 am

      *beams with validation*

  2. Desiree
    March 28, 2011 at 12:43 am

    You said something that has rung so true to me… “Maybe sometimes you have to cross a line to know it’s there”. Thank you for stating that more eloquently than I have been able to, thus far! :)

  3. L.A.
    March 30, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Ah, this reminds me of an old episode of FRIENDS.

    Chandler: I’m sorry, I crossed the line!

    Joey: Crossed the line?! You’re so far past the line, you can’t even see the line! The line is a dot to you!

    I’m glad the line isn’t a dot to you, Biscuit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

