Home > Adventures in Dating > Cocktails with Sucker Punch

Cocktails with Sucker Punch

Toast

So I’m single again. Oh no! What a shame. Actually, no wait hold on. It’s loads of fun. Here is why.

On Wednesday I had tickets for a film premier. I wasn’t going to go because someone had said it sounded boring so I was going to with someone to the opening of a restaurant instead. Since that person and I weren’t an item any more I decided to go to the film premier with Biscuit. WIN.

The film premier was in the usual place and had the full on red carpet thing going on. We also had tickets for the after-party so it was going to be a busy night.

The red carpet was fun, the film, Sucker Punch was so-so (although I can forgive films a lot when they are free and you get complimentary drinks) but the after party was amazing.

Café de Paris had been completely decorated to fit in with the film. There was a free bar and a photo both. There were also the various stars from the film there and the director.

Biscuit and I set about trying all the cocktails and talking to strangers. I dared him to make a balloon sword for the director, Zack Snyder. He did and Zack was delighted with the sword and waved it in Vanessa Hudgens’ face.

She wanted a sword and soon Biscuit was arming most of the cast with balloon weaponry or animals.

It was very amusing. Once we’d done that I started breezing up to girls and saying hello. The opener of ‘So what do you think of the film?’ worked well and we ended up chatting to a few different groups of girls.

There was one girl I took a shine to as we were leaving the film so I made a point of pestering her. Yes like a mini-stalking adventure

She had dark hair with a fringe (bangs) and a cheeky grin. Let’s call her Dawn because she looked remarkably like Dawn Porter who, like every straight man in England, I have a bit of a crush on.

We talked for a while, posed for photos and I gave her my business card. She left early which was sad but I hoped she would email me.

Biscuit and I continued to shark around the venue talking to strangers,  making balloon animals and posing with strangers for photos.

Some time later we ended up in the remnants of the VIP section with two girls. The staff mistook us for something to do with the actual film and were bringing over drinks when we wanted them. This was dangerous. We got very, very drunk.

Much, much later we left the club haggled for a cab and got home. I’d had an amazing time and had been reminded over everything that was fun about being single.

The next day Dawn emailed me, the tone was light and flirty and I asked her out for a drink. We are meeting up on Saturday for a very late brunch. I can’t wait.

  1. L.A.
    April 5, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    I’m so jealous that you get to just dress up for random things like movies. Next time I go to a movie, I’m just going all out and wearing a cocktail dress.

    • April 10, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      I’ve got so many fancy dresses that I occasionally just toss one on even if I’m doing something incredibly casual like meeting friends for coffee. It’s fun, it makes me feel fab, so why not? Just do it!

      I haven’t yet managed to get up the courage to put on my vintage prom dress and just wander down the street though.

      • April 11, 2011 at 3:19 pm

        Little Miss Random you should take the dress out for a walk. Let the world see it.

  2. April 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    So glad you aren’t with “someone” anymore. Your post is the first since you returned from NY in which you seem to have genuinely had fun.

  1. April 5, 2011 at 2:12 pm
  2. April 9, 2011 at 12:18 pm
  3. April 12, 2011 at 4:31 pm
  4. February 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

