Home > Adventures in Dating > Fun times with fajitas

Fun times with fajitas

Biscuit

Having been on four dates with Jen I had promised to go and visit her the following Saturday. This involved a surprisingly pricey trip out the opposite side of London.

People who’ve lived in London for a while complain about having to go south of the river or out of zone 2. This, by comparison, was a journey worthy of Scott. Except, because I used to think nothing of trekking an hour and a half for a night out in London before I moved her it was actually rather a nice trip.

We started off in the pub. What’s been really refreshing about seeing her is that we’ve had a number of sober (or at least initially sober) dates. In many ways the feeling reminds me of when I first got together with Marshall. She too commented how refreshing it was not to make a beeline for the pub. I also remember being quite nervous, as I’ve similarly been with Jen, for the first few dates. I take this as a good comparison because Marshall was my longest and most harmonious of relationships.

After drinking lots of raspberry beer, sharing music, giggling and lamenting Toast’s demanding ex who had just dumped him, we took a sunny walk back to her place for grub. Jen’s house is amazing. It was originally built as an engagement present by some posh chap for his fiancée but, in typical girl style, the fiancée didn’t like it

Jen had been feeling a little harrowed as her housemate had her boyfriend over and they had been doing the sex LOT and VERY LOUDLY, leaving her running past the door to try and avoid it .I gave them both balloon goggles (after they had finished the sexings) and they were suddenly the happiest grown ups is the WORLD. There was some spaceman style psychedelic dancing before they retreated to do more of the sex.

Jen prepared some excellent fajitas and was impressed with my tortilla folding technique. the plan WAS to get some grub and then head out again but I was feeling so wiped out that the little sit down turned into an extended lie down… which then turned into a roll around with frolics and hijinks!

Fajitas are awesome food for dates because you have to discard the cutlery and just get stuck in, which is wonderfully liberating. Also someone will probably throw some down their top at some point. This second point doesn’t help a date, it is just observation.

All pub plans were abandoned in favour of snoozing, so when we woke in the morning we were actually rather refreshed. Since we both had plans for the day, we had a nice cup of tea before she walked me to the station to get the train home.

Dates are certainly getting much more comfortable and I have it on good authority that I passed the housemate’s scrutiny with the smooth balloon moves.

Marriage percentage: 53%. Slow and steady so far and I seem to be in the beginnings of possibly the most sensibly approached relationship for a decade. Being able to have fun times both sober and drunk is really important too.

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    April 12, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    *applauds*
    although Do you ever feel like a balloon whore?

  2. April 12, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Um, do you carry a jumbo pack of balloons around with you at all times?! That may be a little odd… But it seems to work well for you in social situations, so carry on.

    Glad it’s going well on the lady front. Not 54% yet, though? You are being a cautious thing, in’t you?

  3. MrsD
    April 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I very much enjoy judging friends new partners and sadly get the opportunity to do so far less frequently these days than I would like. That said, I think I will evaluate future types solely on their balloon supply and skill. Well done B

  4. April 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Eyebrows & Badger: I like to keep them around for emergencies. They’re great ice breakers. Besides, drunk grown ups LOVE them. But yes, I feel like a total balloon whore!

    The 53% is a good likelihood of marriage. It’s certainly not dropped though, which is hugely encouraging! Cautious is the name of the game here though. I have been dating Jen through the whole period that Toast dated the consultant, went to New York, came back and decided they would be boyfriend and girlfriend, she revealed her mentalness and they broke up.

    I think the cautious approach is serving me well!

    …and good plan MrsD. It’ll be carny folk all the way from here on in!

  1. April 19, 2011 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

