Home > Adventures in Dating > Why you should never play strip Scrabble

Why you should never play strip Scrabble

Toast

On Saturday I was supposed to go for a date with Dawn, that didn’t happen as planned and eventually I only made it worse.

My evening plans had radically changed. I had got chatting to a not quite an old not-quite-a-flame about meeting up but that plan got delayed for something else.

So I was wondering around the house building BBQs and drinking wine. It was a nice day so this wasn’t a painful activity. I was chatting to a few people on twitter, about nothing really and I said in a DM to one person, who I’d never met

‘Fancy a drink some time? <A FRIEND> thinks we’d get along and she is only mostly wrong most of the time.’

To which they replied

‘Sounds like a brilliant idea! We’re drinking in South London at the mo if you fancy x?’

And that is why about 30 minutes later I was knocking on the door of an almost complete stranger to gatecrash their garden party. Well it was a lovely sunny Saturday afternoon, what else was there to do?

It wasn’t so much a garden party as two girls getting drunk in a garden. One was wearing a blue play-suit and the other was in a floaty summer dress. The one in the play-suit was blonde with blue eyes, the dress girl had dark hair in a bob and loved Doctor Who. They were friends of friends so it wasn’t massively weird. Just mostly weird and polite.

They were lightly sizzled and I joined in the fun. By joined in the fun I mean I got ruinously drunk, with people I didn’t really know. Wine is good isn’t it?

After we’d drunk all the wine in the house, we went to the pub which was next door and got more drinks. A man turned up and set up a karaoke station. Another person I didn’t really know, but I could pretend to be a F.O.F. turned up, there was more karaoke related fun going on.

The stupid idea

I got not just drunk, but destroyed. How do I know this?

Because I challenged a girl – one I didn’t actually fancy – to a game of strip Scrabble.

I don’t know why? It wouldn’t even work as a strip game, because Scrabble mostly just involves two people arguing about words. That’s not very sexy is it? Also when would you strip? Would it be a points system? Or when you use up letters? Why did I ask I girl I didn’t fancy to play it with me? Did I just assume she looked like the sort to have a Scrabble set with her? Or did she look like the sort of person who would have access to a set but also wouldn’t know any good words?

I clearly hadn’t thought this through very well. Luckily at exactly the time of the nudie-scrabble-challenge I was waiting for my cab to appear so I dived into it and went home. The next day my head was very hurty, but also a bit glad.

Sober Toast has reasonably good judgement and self control, drunk Toast is a bit of a berk sometimes, but I forgive him because he is so much fun and he has nice hair.

  1. MrsD
    April 12, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Maybe you should have played it – finessed the rules and your technique before unleashing it on someone you DO fancy? next time…

  2. txtingmrdarcy
    April 12, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    In your defense, one of them did like Dr Who. Both Toasts are fabulous to me. :)

  3. April 13, 2011 at 10:45 am

    MrsD – That’s a very positive way of looking at things.

    Texting Mr Darcy – Yes Dr Who appreciation counts for a lot these days.

  1. May 3, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

