Home > Adventures in Dating > Even Marilyn Monroe wouldn’t wear that skirt

Even Marilyn Monroe wouldn’t wear that skirt

Toast

There I was. It was Bank Holiday Monday. I’d block-booked the day as ‘do absolutely nothing if at all possible’ and I was sticking to it.

After a manic weekend I needed a day to recover, against all the odds I was lured to a pub.

Penelope texted me.

Hey Toast you’ve probably have plans but I’m on my way back from A TOWN via PART OF WEST LONDON and was wondering if you fancied a drink?

So I replied and said yes, because as much as I love the sofa I’d like to see more of her.

We arranged to meet outside a tube equidistant between us and then we’d go and find a pub nearby.

She appeared on time (ten points to team Penelope) and was wearing a long floaty black skirt, a denim jacket and a light blue scarf. Her dress was so floaty it kept rising up in the wind causing a bit of a Marilyn Monroe moment.

We found a nearby pub, it was an old wooden place that was built like a maze. She bought some drinks and we sat down to catch up. It was a fairly in-depth conversation catching up future plans and things.

It was exactly the sort of conversation that hadn’t been possible when we met last week because we were mashed and with chums. Okay, I was mashed, and she was with chums.

It was very nice drink and terribly civilised.

The only slightly unusual thing was when she said ‘Oh I’ve just noticed this skirt is a bit see through.’ I couldn’t help but look at the skirt when she said that, and it was a bit.

There were definite outlines. I blushed and hid behind my pint.

Hot damn I’m cool.

After an hour we said goodbyes and disappeared home, with plans to meet up next weekend on Sunday. 

Marriage percentage: 30% Slightly lower percentage than last time as the reality of the situation is kicking in, she is a chum.

  1. April 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    just noticed?
    that means it was new
    she wore a new skirt for you, and definitely dressed up…. interesting.

  2. April 27, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I am annoying and I respectfully request a Biscuit and Toast weigh in on the ROYAL WEDDING (all caps necessary) which seems to be all we can talk about over here in the states.

  3. April 28, 2011 at 7:08 am

    Jillian – We shall see what happens next. We have history and it’s purely as chums.

    Texting Mr Darcy – I have to do so much about it at work that here is a much needed respite, so can I politely decline?

  4. April 28, 2011 at 11:00 am

    I love the “Oh dear, my skirt is a bit see through” line. For the record, if we walk out wearing a skirt that is see through, we knew it. And…we don’t point it out to ‘chums’.

    THANK YOU for not saying anything about the royal wedding. Wake me when I can have my news back!!!

  5. April 29, 2011 at 8:23 am

    For R**** W****** day I am holed up doing work and listing to my new favourite ragga metal album. I’m with Shawn.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

