Home > Adventures in Dating > Congratulations to the Mermaid, Commiserations to the Toast

Congratulations to the Mermaid, Commiserations to the Toast

Toast

Those of you that have been reading this blog for a while will remember The Mermaid. I was set up on a blind date with her by a chum. It was, and still is the best blind date I’ve ever been on.

The only reason I didn’t see her again is that she was shipping out to sea for five months. So we only really met twice, the second time was for cocktails with chums and it was just as lovely as the first time.

It would be safe to say I was taken with her, but the whole disappearing off to sea for months rather put a dampener on things. I did however make a note in my diary for her return.

She is married now, yup married to a nice chap she met while sailing around.

I hope he realises how lucky he is and I wish her all the best because if you like someone, you just want them to be happy even if it doesn’t involve you, and she is just so terribly happy.

I suppose the important lesson from all of this is that if you meet someone who impresses you don’t wait, don’t let anything get in your way.

Well consider me taught.

Categories: Adventures in Dating
  1. guerillakitchen
    April 29, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Sorry Toast. Although 5 months is an indecently short time to get hitched.

  2. April 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    You might be able to snag her on round two. Keep her in your diary….

  3. MrsD
    April 29, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    Well, I’m very sorry for you but your gracious well-wishes to the happy couple show you to be an excellent person, which some lucky young thing is bound to discover abount you in the not too distant future

  4. April 30, 2011 at 8:39 am

    GuerillaKitchen – It’s okay, it really is.

    Jillian Harvie – A nice idea, but I’m just going to wish her well.

    MrsD – Fingers crossed. Biscuit is storming ahead with Jen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

