Home > Adventures in Dating > How to impress a lady with meat

How to impress a lady with meat

Biscuit

Toast has told me off (repeatedly) for getting so far behind with my posts. It’s mostly been due to horrible amounts of work (which has mostly been my fault) so I’m now bringing everything up to date.

The Barbecue

I had offered to cook for Toast and a small group of chums. We sort of take it in turns to cook occasional meals and I had been tasked with making something with saffron so had bought some organic lamb for the occasion.

I hadn’t previously been aware that lamb was being traded in lieu of gold. I assume that this was the case because I’m pretty sure I didn’t buy unicorn by accident, even though I was charged accordingly.

Since it was going to be such a lovely sunny day we decided to make an occasion of it and invited a few more friends to make it a small party.

I also invited Jen. I wasn’t too sure about doing this at first as I had seen her very recently and was still very protective over my free time. It might sound ridiculous but I didn’t want to see her too often in these early stages. I’ve been single for almost 2 years now and keep getting a little flighty at the prospect of ‘losing’ my free weekends (you know, the ones I currently spend on the Xbox with Toast).

The plan is to keep taking it SLOOOOOW so that I don’t have a little episode and spoil things.

Despite initial reticence I was really looking forward to her coming over. She is the only girl to date who I have invited to hang out with my friends and this was the second time I was doing it.

One thing that is great about Jen is that she is gregarious, exuberant and well equipped with social skills. When she turned up most others were already drinking in the garden whilst I was going for a record for the ‘longest time to cook a bit of lamb’ in the kitchen.

This meant that she would have to spend a fair bit of time holding her own until I was done faffing in the kitchen. After a kiss and a quick catchup she admirably ingratiated herself with the rest of the bunch.

The whole barbecue experience really was rather excellent and after several hours and gratuitous amounts of food and booze there was just Toast Jen and me crashed out in the front room. I was feeling pretty sleepy but Jen had other ideas so she quietly instructed me in no uncertain terms to take her upstairs.

It would have been very rude to refuse.

Marriage percentage: 59% – She’s impressively awesome and I know that I’ve still got at least 6 weeks before I’m allowed to consider anything ‘commitmenty’, so that allays any frets I might have had about things going too fast.

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    May 3, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    LIKE!
    Although, Lamb and saffron? You hoity toity kids you!

  2. Woo
    May 4, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Blimey, you ARE miles behind. Are you married now?

  3. S.
    May 4, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Hello! New follower here. I absolutely love your blog, wish I’d read from the start. Good work x

    • May 4, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      Well you could always go back and read it from the start, all the words are still there! Glad to hear you like it though.

  4. May 4, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Eyebrows – I don’t mess around when it comes to food. No value burgers HERE thank you.
    Woo – I’m catching up now, promise!
    S. – It’s great to have you with us! ….so who’s your money on? ;)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

