Home > Adventures in Dating > Not quite the stupidest plan I’ve ever had, but pretty close

Not quite the stupidest plan I’ve ever had, but pretty close

Toast

So I’d had a lovely evening with the Starlet but what was next? She was going back across the pond and wouldn’t be back for a while.

She did say something that I did remember through the fug of drunkenness. That she’d like to do a play, in London. I didn’t give it a lot of thought, I didn’t know anyone in that world, but I did store it away for later.

On Saturday I met a not-quite-a-chum-yet. I didn’t know her exactly, but we had scores of mutual friends and since we happened to be in almost exactly the same part of London (Twitter saves the day again) we decided to meet for a coffee.

Which turned out to be a gin.

Gin makes magic things happen

It was lovely and while talking about all sorts of pleasant nonsense she mentioned that she was a theatre producer and she was looking for projects. I suddenly remembered that thing that the Starlet said about a play, so I asked the Theatre Producer if she might be interested in The Starlet for a project.

She said potentially yes, but we’d need a script.

This got my mind racing. Could be the method to lure the Starlet back to London? It could be.

Before I could find out more details I had to scamper off to meet another chum and then onto a birthday party and the Theatre Producer had to go off to a wedding so we parted way with plans to talk.

Much later that evening

At the birthday I drank quite a lot of booze. I sent the Starlet a text mentioning I’d just had coffee with a Theatre Producer who was game if we could find the right script.

She was delighted by this,  and there were vague plans to meet up for drinks later after she had finished work. On her instructions I tried to get hold of our mutual friend to find out where I should go but sadly my phone was running out of power.

I just managed to send out a text about my phone dying before it finally gave up. Which I hope would have added to my mysterious an enigmatic nature. It was a shame we didn’t get another night of boozing though.

The next day a few more text messages were exchanged, where the Starlet reiterated that she really wanted to work with me.

So if I want to see her again I’ve got to magic up the perfect play, or write it myself.  It’s not the stupidest thing I’ve done to impress a girl but it’s got to be in the top five.

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    May 9, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    This is the BEST PLAN I have EVER heard you concoct, sausage. DO IT! What will it be about??

  2. May 9, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    I’m thinking you have a script right here in the blog – Jillian and I have already discussed your future movie. Possibly awkward explaining to Starlet, but I’m sure you could just say it was an ‘idea’.

    Which actors would play you both?

  3. eyebrowsofdoom
    May 9, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    We already have that conversation somewhere I think don’t we..?? Look somewhere between September and December :D

    • May 10, 2011 at 12:29 am

      My bad – didn’t read all the comments while I was getting caught up :)

  4. May 10, 2011 at 10:31 am

    Eyebrows – Best plan. Oh okay then. I have no idea what it will be about. The blog has been ruled out because ‘episodic stories are very hard to get right on stage’ also that would involve her finding out about the blog. BAD IDEA.

    NancyFrancis – We’ve got the beginnings of a story, but it doesn’t have an ending yet does it?

    • May 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      Really terrible cliffhanger? Automatic sequel?

      I smell a Franchise!

  5. MrsD
    May 10, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    So. What IS the stupidest plan you’ve ever had? Maybe your play should be about that?

    • May 11, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Heh. That’s not a bad idea…

    • eyebrowsofdoom
      May 11, 2011 at 11:14 am

      YES. What she said

  6. MrsD
    May 11, 2011 at 11:30 am

    And I’m prepared to waive my consultancy fee if you promise to donate all profits to a worthy cause

  7. May 11, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Right. I’ve been thinking about this and have come up with A Plan.
    You organise a ‘showcase’ of young writer’s work, featuring your Starlet. Young writers have to submit a short play (like 20 mins) for just a couple of characters, one of which will be played by Starlet. Your producer friend markets it as a charity one off event. They get publicity, Starlet gets to look like a Good Sort and showcase her talent in a load of roles, meaning more work for her, and you get a big rosy afterglow for pulling it all together. Plus, it’ll be actually doing some good for some struggling artist types, and raising money for charity.

    • May 11, 2011 at 6:36 pm

      *whispers* I’d quite like to write a play actually.

  8. May 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    You can be one of the writers! And your play can be the best one.

  9. May 14, 2011 at 11:53 am

    hehe…..you could write a play about “The Kissing Ninja of London”

  10. L.A.
    May 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    If I write the play, can I date the starlet?

  1. May 21, 2011 at 9:29 am
  2. May 29, 2011 at 7:04 am

Leave a Reply

