Home > Adventures in Dating > Lunch dates at St John

Lunch dates at St John

Toast

I was a little bit hungover on Friday after going out with Rebecca. Not ruined or anything just not at 100%.

I wanted to battle through work and then spend some quality time with my sofa.

I’d forgotten that I had a lunch date. It was with a girl from the Internet, well from America but we’d met through the Internet. Well not met. This was to be our first meeting.

The lunch date had been arranged for a while and so we hadn’t spoken for a few days, well ten. I’d messaged her a few days ago just to sort of confirm that the date was still on. She hadn’t replied.

I sent her another message with my phone number asking her to give me a call to say if it was still happening.

This might seem a bit needy but the restaurant was on the other side of London, it was going to be a bit of a quest to get there.

There was no reply.

I hate being stood up so I decided to go to the restaurant to see if she was there. If I hadn’t gone I would have spent the rest of the day wondering what could have been.

It was quite far away and I had transport issues. I couldn’t find the right bus, and then the tube stopped in the tunnel for ages. I was a little bit late.

I couldn’t see her, or at least anyone who looked like the couple of pictures on the dating website.

I asked a member of staff if they had her booking because I didn’t know her surname this was a bit more tricky. They were jolly helpful though and didn’t seem to bat an eyelid when I said I was meeting a friend but I didn’t have her phone number or surname.

I waited at the bar, scanning the restaurant and anyone who arrived while checking my phone to see if she had messaged me.

Eventually I gave in and headed back to work. Lunch was an unpleasant sandwich on a bus. When I got back to the office I got a minor telling off for having a too long lunch break.

It wasn’t a very successful date.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

