Home > Adventures in Dating > Lunch in a Japan in the 1980s

Lunch in a Japan in the 1980s

Toast

Friday was the last day I was going to be in London at the same time as the Theatre Producer. She was off to America on Monday and I was going to visit my family on Friday.

So I did the only logical thing and invited her out for lunch. Yes I’d seen her the day before, and the day before that and on the weekend but I wanted to see her again.

I took her to one of my favourite restaurants. It’s a great Japanese place that is hidden away above a supermarket. It’s got amazing service the food is brilliant and the furnishings are so dated it could be run as a theme restaurant.

The staff are ridiculously helpful. One of them came over to personally apologise for the fact that the orange juice wasn’t freshly squeezed.

We ordered some bento boxes and chatted away. Spending time with the Theatre Producer is very easy and it’s nice to have a lunch break that involves a lot of laughter.

Sadly it was over too soon and she walked me back to my office. We kissed briefly and then said goodbye.

I’m not going to see her for a month now. That’s quite a long time, although I am looking forward to the possibility of our first date. That should be exciting.

Marriage percentage: 50% (that includes knocking points off for being a reader and thus more complicated).

  1. eyebrowsofdoom
    May 29, 2011 at 10:00 am

    The lack of m% on the last two obvious DATES is offensive. I never had you down for a coward, Toast…

  2. May 29, 2011 at 10:02 am

    But they aren’t dates, I was specifically told NO DATES BEFORE AMERICA. *sticks out tongue*

  3. eyebrowsofdoom
    May 29, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I don’t think it works like that. In substance, you’re at least 3 dates in. You’re such a woman.

  4. K
    May 29, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Yeah, party game foul, you owe us. And Honorable Theater Producers would agree to swear off the blog at this point.

  5. H
    May 29, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Ha! K you must be a bloke, – any woman knows that Smart Theatre Producers would say that they’ve stopped reading, but “occasionally” pop by. Daily.

    A smart Toast on the other hand might suggest that since she knows about the blog she too has to write up all dates and feature a M% within them. Fair’s fair after all.

    Anyway, pleased to see sanity is prevailing and that Producer trumps Starlet.

    P.S. You totally owe some percentages. A date is what happens, not what it’s called. Cough up.

  6. May 29, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Interesting,
    Those were dates: “An engagement to go out socially with another person, often out of romantic interest.” If they weren’t you wouldn’t have blogged them.
    Since you’ve blogged them, you need to follow the rules of the wager.

    Romantic interest, reciprocity, and you’re not following the rules…
    #1 she knows about the blog, and
    #2 she is going away
    … how romantic and complicated…. and just your type.

    MP = 60%.

  7. May 30, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Apologies all for my quietness. I’m working on a couple of catchup posts that will bring you all up to date.

    In the mean time I can’t not weigh in on this, frankly scandalous, issue of lack of marriage percentages.

    Toast, you’re well beyond bending the rules and you know it. Firstly may I point you towards your own post: ‘Rule six is important‘. In your own writing:
    6. EVERY date must be blogged. No secret dates. No ‘we just went for a coffee’. Every single one has to be recorded. Also you have to provide a Marriage Percentage (M%), scored at the end of the date.

    See that. Every date.”

    Secondly I would like to point you towards: ‘Does a kiss make it a date?‘ in which I specifically DIDN’T go on a date but you left me in no doubt that I was not playing fair by writing it up with a marriage percentage since there had been kissing.

    You can’t dodge the issue just because the shoe is on the other foot now. Don’t make me write a post about this!

    Jillian – it’s not against the rules to date someone who knows about the blog, as explained HERE, it’s just very, very tricky to do.

  8. May 31, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Everyone, keep your knickers on. I was just delaying while I had a very tricky chat with the girl about this.

    The problem with the marriage percentages (when you properly like the lady involved) is that if you go too low you risk insulting her and if you go too high you risk scaring her off by being too full on. So basically each time you do it you only have a 1/100 chance of not fucking things up.

    I’ll put them in, but I’m holding you ALL personally responsible if this fucks things up. *points fingers*

    Seriously. *points again*

    • May 31, 2011 at 11:55 am

      I, for one, think dodging the M% because of the delicate balance involved in dating a reader is Wise. This is a wager, after all, and I you’re going to take a stab at winning you might have to bend the rules :)

      Then again, maybe I’m giving you some slack because you’ve actually been posting!

      • May 31, 2011 at 12:34 pm

        Yep, ‘ actually posting’, fair point and noted! Will rectify tonight.

  9. May 31, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Consider it a compliment that we can’t wait to hear your update!

  10. eyebrowsofdoom
    June 1, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Totally not wanting to overegg this but FUCKING HELL 50%?!?!
    This is a strategic m%. av a word biscuit. I want an honest one, not one AGREED with the lady at what she’d find least offensive.
    Given toast’s track record this basically suggests (esp with discount) she is halfway up his aisle (oo-er), and I reckon he would be too cautious to announce this of his own accord.

    • June 1, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Eyebrows, you need to have a nice cup of tea and maybe a chocolate biscuit.

      I did not agree this percentage with the girl, she hasn’t seen it yet either (the blog is banned on her work laptop) I thought it was about as high as I could go with out actually having been on an actual date with her. So Nher.

      Toast

      (drinks next week?)

      • eyebrowsofdoom
        June 1, 2011 at 11:05 am

        I know. I decided I was being a bit of a statistics hitler about the whole thing and came back to excuse you. *eyebrows pardon*

  11. eyebrowsofdoom
    June 1, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I had an “analysis” HTML tag in there. Just so you know.

  12. moononastick
    June 1, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Ah! Just read you BH weekend updated. What a nice round-up of the last few days – sounds perfect a match :-)

  13. June 2, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    50%????

    You are an appeaser… a great step towards being a husband!

  14. June 2, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Nancy, I like you sassing biscuit.

  15. H
    June 3, 2011 at 8:03 am

    Biscuit :
    Yep, ‘ actually posting’, fair point and noted! Will rectify tonight.

    When you say “tonight”, are you posting from far in the future? Obviously I do understand that time travel is a tricky and unpredictable businesss ;o)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

