Home > Adventures in Dating > Romance Vs Practicality

Romance Vs Practicality

Toast

The Theatre Producer is away in America, which means I’m sort of in limbo.  Well I’m waiting. I’m not good at waiting. I get restless.

I also start looking at flights, and wouldn’t you know it, last-minute flights are cripplingly expensive.

I would only be able to go for a weekend (I can’t take any time off this month) so once I’d spent 9 hours getting there I’d only be there for about 10 hours before I had to hop on a 9 hour flight back. It’s a stupid plan, but one I’m still considering.

I am stupid.

In the meantime I’ve sent her some flowers. Ladies should get flowers when they least expect it and thanks to the magic of the internet I can arrange for a plethora of blooms to turn up at her work while I am sat in a boring meeting.

The only tricky part is to fight the urge to smile when I think of her face when they arrive.

Only 19 days to go until she is back. Come on team, we can do this.

  1. Mo
    June 3, 2011 at 7:09 am

    Reading this post has made me feel like an extra in a romance film. **hands on chest and saying awwww**

    Well done! These are lovely, romantic ideas.

  2. moononastick
    June 3, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Flowers = lovely idea
    Flight = stalkerish – she may have plans in those 10 hours and it seems slightly desparate. Nice idea if you’d been dating a while.

    All very Richard Curtis – I like Toast in love blogs.

    p.s. I think it’s a good thing she knows about the blog because then you won’t have any difficult explaining to do as one day you will with a potential wife

  3. June 3, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Mo – Glad to hear you approve.

    Moonastic – Flights are a bit stalkerish, but she has invited me, a few times. So it’s less mental. Still quite mental though. Yes, should we get to *that* stage it should be easier, but we are getting ahead of ourselves. We’ve not even had a proper date yet.

  4. June 3, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Big win on the Flowers ;)

  5. June 3, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    Oh I love it!
    Perhaps you can meet in Iceland, or the Azores.. but 19 days.. that is nothing!
    Read my recent post boo…

  6. hmb
    June 3, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    awww now you’re both in lurrrrve!!! keep the updates coming please toast. And get biscuit to stop being completely lazy/loved up and post!!!!!

  7. June 3, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    D’awwwww… I like your philosophy. You’d be way ahead if not for the Consultant. ;)

  8. eyebrowsofdoom
    June 4, 2011 at 1:24 am

    19 days is a LIFETIME. Gah.

    Well done on the flowers. I am proud of you. For obeying The Law.

  9. Stephanie
    June 4, 2011 at 2:42 am

    flowers, wonderful idea! 19 days is the same as i currently have! Your not alone, you can do it!

  10. Corianderwhish
    June 5, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Have just discovered these tales of you adventures and spent (wasted?) yesterdsy shadebathing and catching up with the history of it – love it. And possibly both of you a wee bit. From the non-vantage point of being half a generation older than you both, I have realised I need to get my arse into gear and be more proactive.

    But I actually came here to thank Toast for the Nordic Bakery recommendation – good call, young man! Am there now. Have a bit of a thing for cinnamon. Nom. Nom nom.

  11. June 6, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Nancy – The flowers went down reasonably well. I will blog about that later today.

    Jillian – You are very brave. I’d 30 days is too much.

    hmb – Will do, although with her in the states it’s hard to arrange things. However I may have already ordered some more things to be delivered…

    Texting Mr Darcy – Every misfortune is lesson, but perhaps.

    Eyebrows – I practically wrote the law.

    Stephanie – Any tips for passing the time gratefully received.

    Coriander – Glad to hear you enjoyed it and top marks for starting at the beginning. Those Cinnamon buns are amazing no?

  12. Stephanie
    June 7, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Tips: dont let it run your life, keep busy, be greatful for any communication the two of you have, and remember the distance is only temporary and merely an obstacle to make you stronger. 19 (now 16) days is nothing, going on around 3 months now since Iv seen my marine. Keep your chin up! Think of how much shel have been missing you when you see her again ;)

  1. June 7, 2011 at 2:49 pm
  2. June 14, 2011 at 9:50 pm
  3. July 26, 2011 at 8:47 am

Leave a Reply

