Home > Adventures in Dating > A romantic gesture with milk

A romantic gesture with milk

Toast

So the Theatre Producer is back today. Actually by the time this appears on the website she will have landed. I’m writing at at 5am. Why you may ask?

Because I’m a bit of a berk who gets ideas.

Way before she set off on her grand adventure to America she mentioned when she was coming back. Specifically when she was returning. on a 7:30am flight. At that time I decided I was going to meet her when she arrived and it was going to be a surprise.

The airport is on the other side of London so it was going to require a super early start and also shuffling some stuff around at work.

At first I thought I could meet her at the airport and then go into work a little late but in the end I took the morning off which is possibly nicer because it means I don’t have to rush back to the office after greeting her.

I also had to employ a mutual friend as a spy to confirm the time of the flight to make sure I didn’t end up in the wrong place.

Being a bit of a romantic berk I decided that meeting at the airport wasn’t enough. I have got her flowers as well and also made a sign. I’ve never arrived anywhere and had one of those men waiting with a sign but I’ve always thought it would be cool.

I’ve also made her up a little goodie back. It’s a special ‘You’ve returned to London’ goodie bag featuring all the things she would need to get after returning to London but that might not be in the flat.

Milk,
Bread,
Chocolate,
Gin,
Tonic,
Lemon,
Miniature bottle of champagne,
A newspaper and magazine,
Shower gel,
Nail polish,

And some other things that I’ve forgotten for the moment (it is very early).

I’m going to head to the airport in a moment, she still doesn’t know I’m going to be there. I think I’ll send her at text when I arrive with perhaps a clue or something so she can begin to suspect while waiting at customs. That way she can have a delicious moment of realisation before seeing with the flowers and the bag and the home-made sign grinning like a loon in the arrivals bit of the airport.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

  1. June 22, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Isn’t she a blog follower? In which case, won’t she know already… or has she sworn off the blog?
    I think your idea is brilliant though and wish someone would do something nice for me like that once in a while!

  2. MrsD
    June 22, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Too cute, I would absolutely love that. I need to get my husband to read this blog so he can pick up some romantical ideas…

  3. June 22, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Hiking – I posted it after I’d met her off the plane so it was safe to mention. That’s what I’m going to do for future stuff.

    MrsD – Tell him it was EXCITING to do, it really was.

  4. June 22, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Not what i was expecting to read about this morning but enjoyed. If we all went the extra mile to put a smile on a loved ones face how great would the world be? Nice Work.

  5. MrsD
    June 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    I fear if I tell him how to execute a romantic gesture it will sap all the romance out of it for me. And if he’s doing something un-romantic I’d just as soon have him unload the dishwasher. Whilst reading the blog, ha ha

  1. June 22, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

