Home > Adventures in Dating > Will you be my totally awesome girlfriend?

Will you be my totally awesome girlfriend?

Toast

Last night there was a small gathering of some of the regular characters on the blog. MyLoveLifeInYourHands was around with the visiting Marni (also known as Blossom on this blog), FleetStreetFox was celebrating her birthday and some of the Schwingalong Girls were out.

I had invited the Theatre Producer along too. We were going a fancy pants party, but it didn’t start till later so we joined the gang in a pub for a few drinks before the bash.

There was a lot of giggling. The girls were all exceedingly well dressed, lots of floaty dresses, power pencil skirts and some-what optimistically shorts. Optimistic because the weather hasn’t been exactly great.

Everyone got on very well.

The whole affair was  terribly pleasant, but also had a hint of MyLoveLifeInYourHands and I presenting girls we like to Her Royal Foxyness for judgement.

I had tried to get Biscuit to appear too with Jen (who has already been fox-judged) but he made up some rubbish excuses.

After a few drinks the Theatre Producer and I walked over to our swanky party. There was free champagne and a BBQ with proper grown-up food. Not tiny canapés. This was a very pleasant surprise and so we set about eating and drinking slightly too much while playing ‘Is that a famous person?’

While we were playing this game the bar ran out of  pink champagne, so we had to slum it and switch to normal coloured champagne. Tough times.

Some time later we went back to the Theatre Producers place, which incidentally is a proper grown-ups house rather than the ‘Lost Boys nest’ that Biscuit and I live in.

She gave me the presents she’d got me in America, they were all silly, pointless and lovely. The stand-out items were three water-pistols that were shaped like dinosaurs. She said she’d got three so she, Biscuit and I could use them at the same time. I thought that was unbelievably sweet.

We chatted, I was given the guided tour and ended up staying the night.

The next morning I quizzed her on important facts. I’d already decided that I wanted her to be my girlfriend so I was just clearing up some final details which included her views on white chocolate, avocados, robots and David Bowie’s trousers in Labyrinth.

She passed all the questions and so I asked her, “So Theatre Producer, will you be my totally awesome girlfriend?’

She said yes. She also said that she’d never been properly asked out like that before. Men of the world, up your game.

When she was out of the room making me a cup of tea I punched the air and said ‘Yesssssssssss’.

Marriage percentage: 56% – Steadily rising.

Biscuit should start looking decidedly nervous if he has any sense.

  1. June 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Her Royal Foxyness thoroughly approves of both women.

    She is less sure about the blokes, although they are quite cool and buy her drinks so actually scratch that, she approves of them too.

    Yay!

  2. MrsD
    June 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaay!

  3. L.A.
    June 25, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    It’s a real competition now :) Kudos, Toast!

  4. June 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Fleetstreetfox – Glad to hear it.

    MrsD – Yay is an understatement

    L.A. – Oh yes, this just got real.

  5. June 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Now that it’s official, you’d better not just up and stop posting like your friend Biscuit. (*gives Biscuit the shifty eye*)

    • June 28, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Hahaha. No, the *ahem* late posting is more to do with Biscuit’s busy life rather than the fault of Jen. I did let him know you were giving him the shifty eye though. He is going to write more stuff tonight.*

      *That is what he told me at least.

  1. July 26, 2011 at 8:47 am
  2. July 3, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

