Home > Adventures in Dating > Meet the family: The sister

Meet the family: The sister

Toast

The parade of introducing The Theatre Producer to chums and relatives has continued. On Wednesday she met my sister.

My sister is a bit scary. Well quite scary actually, far scarier than my mum. She has a job where being scary is an advantage and she is very good at it.

I can’t think of many girls who have met her, only one perhaps and that was at my father’s funeral so it wasn’t really a relaxed social occasion. Actually that whole episode is worthy of it’s own post, but I’ll save that for another time.

On Wednesday I had a boozy lunch and then the opening of a restaurant. I’d invited my sister and her boyfriend to the restaurant opening as well as The Theatre Producer.

I actually originally invited the Theatre Producer when we were still chums-who-happened-to-go-to-stuff-together-and-maybe-kiss rather than an official item.

The lunch was excellent. So excellent in fact that I was moderately to rather smashed by the time my sister appeared. The remnants of the lunch party were hanging around getting even more trashed before slinking back to their offices. I’d booked the afternoon off so was in no hurry to return.

My sister had brought along a chum because her boyfriend (or more accurately) fiancé was at a job interview. The chum was a tall chap with curly hair who had decided I was gay because of the loud trousers I was wearing.

They were pretty loud trousers but once we’d cleared up the whole gay thing he was very nice.

We had time for one quick drink before The Theatre Producer appeared. She was running a bit late because she had got slightly lost on the way over. I introduced her to my chums, my sister and her plus one and then we dashed over to the restaurant.

Eating for free

I was feeling a little bit drunk at this point.

We were checked off the guest list and ushered inside. The place was stupidly busy, absolutely manic.

We had glasses of wine pressed into our hands and then set about sampling the canapés that were being distributed around the room. There was some sort of squid ink risotto and something in breadcrumbs that I remember being very nice.

I wasn’t really in a fit state to provide any sound judgement on food. I do remember having my glass topped up and almost immediately handing it to The Theatre Producer so she could enjoy it. I had just enough sense to realise I should stop drinking, but not enough to stop them giving me more champagne.

I’m fairly sure that The Theatre Producer and my sister talked but I can’t remember a word that was said.

We floated around the restaurant trying out different canapés and drinking more than we should. I was strictly on the orange juice at this point but dutifully passed my glass over to The Theatre Producer every time it was filled.

Some time much later we left after having eaten so much food we all felt a bit ill. A win I think.

The next day my sister sent me a text saying that my girlfriend seemed very nice. So I suppose that’s a pass.

Marriage percentage: 58%

My brother is coming up to London this week, so the Theatre Producer can meet him next. He isn’t scary in the slightest.

  1. July 4, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I don’t understand. How does meeting the sister and getting a posi-text only gain a 1% increase in Marriage percentage. Did the theatre producer do something bad recently so that the change represents a net improvement? Or does your sister mean nothing to you? Or is the percentage a variance against some kind of target growth rate? I MUST KNOW

  2. MrsD
    July 4, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I met my husband through my sis so we avoided all that. I do enjoy the judgement/ridicule session with any new boyfs of hers though. And I like to think I can do Scary Big Sister excellently well too.

    That’s all, just felt like sharing. Jolly good show on all this love/girlfriend/romance business too.

  3. July 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I think you should be more generous on the Marriage percentile points… If you were a bit drunk, The Theater Producer basically managed the meeting with Scary Sis on her own. That takes poise, to say the least. ;)

  4. July 5, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Tommy – Since I’m above 50% I think I need to be a bit more conservative with points. Otherwise I’m going to end up with 249683%

    MrsD – I had no idea it was a thing, I hope you aren’t too cruel

    Texting MrDarcy – Points above 50% have to be harder to get, or at least that’s how I’m explaining it to myself.

  5. July 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Ahh – the “teaching a baby to swim” incentive scheme, shuffling slowly backwards from the ignorant fool. clever

  6. MrsD
    July 5, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Depends how much of a knob they seem and how much they kiss my arse. Knobs who don’t kiss my arse can have a pretty hard time. But then, they deserve it so brought it on themselves. All’s fair and all that…

  7. July 7, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Tommy – More of ‘oh damn I’ve started too high and now I only have a few points left’

    MrsD – Have you ever made them cry?

  8. MrsD
    July 8, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Not that I know of but there is one in particular who I wish I’d tried harder to make cry. If I ever see him again, I’ll give it my best shot.

  1. July 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

