Home > Adventures in Dating > Doctors and Nurses

Doctors and Nurses

Toast

I have often looked after girlfriends when they are ill. I understand that no-matter the ailment, chocolates, DVD boxsets,  flowers and home cooked food will help with the illness.

I have never been looked after while ill in return. Not even close.

One time I had a flu thing that made my head sing and my knees hurt and my girlfriend at the time (who I lived with) told me that the best way to get over the illness was to do some hoovering and take the bins out.

Last week I was ill. It was just man-flu but it was bad enough to make me stay at home rather than be a brave little soldier and struggle into work, coughing weakly when people walked past my desk.

I actually took some time off work but even more miraculous The Theatre Producer decided she wanted to look after me.

She appeared after work and made me* a huge curry and then sent me to bed with Lemsip.

Before I went to bed I grabbed a hot shower because I’d been feverish all day and was in a bit of a state.

I returned from my shower to find that the Theatre Producer had left, and had been replaced with a member of the NHS.

A member of the NHS from a rather racy bit of sixties judging by her uniform. This ‘Nurse’ looked a lot like the Theatre Producer, but insisted on calling me the patient.

It was excellent. I might try and get ill more often now. God bless the NHS**

*And the rest of the house

**Particularly the bit of the NHS that employs leggy brunettes who wear frankly filthy heels with their uniforms and who visit poorly chaps in their bedrooms.

Marriage percentage: 62%

(Yes we don’t normally write about this sort of stuff but The Theatre Producer said I could, just this once)

  1. July 20, 2011 at 8:11 am

    “Girlfriend’s”? Standards are slipping, Toast…

    • July 20, 2011 at 8:20 am

      Whoops *red face* :)

  2. July 20, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    *snorts!*

    She is saucy, and I approve of her greatly. You two make me smile, as a rule. I also approve of your prescription for an ill partner. Please write one out and I shall give it to Army Boy at the earliest opportunity.

    • July 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Texting Mr Darcy – Yes well like most meals everything is better with a bit of sauce. Noted on Army Boy, although I think he does a pretty good job already…

  1. July 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

