Home > Adventures in Dating > Good times, bad copy

Good times, bad copy

Toast

The problem with writing about dating and relationships, is that when it goes well it doesn’t make very good copy.

I’ve been seeing The Theatre Producer for over three months now and it’s been really good. Good in an easy way, no fretting over what a text message means or why I’ve been invited around for a meal and then not talked to.

It’s not really been like any dating I’ve done before, she hasn’t even tried to stop me seeing my friends.

I’m honestly at a loss about what to write about. I could sum up the last few months with ‘we did some things, it was nice, I ate too much’. That is about it really.

We’ve seen a lot of theatre, cooked a lot of recipes together, drunk a lot and spent whole evenings giggling about utter nonsense. It has been good, which is hard to write about.

Maybe I should just draw pictures of dinosaurs instead.

  1. October 13, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    now – I’m not your mum. but there’s an obvious solution here.

    Well two I guess, but the one that isn’t ringing-up is to get her to blog. As she’s ruined it and it’s her fault.

    yes

    • October 14, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Tom: I think a lady writer would change the dynamic on the blog and not for the best. This isn’t a criticism of writing style or ability, just that the blog is based around two chaps racing to get married.

  2. Lily June
    October 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Falling in love makes great copy

  3. Ros
    October 13, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Oooh that’s a GENIUS idea!

  4. Guerillakitchen
    October 13, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    It is the flaw in your experiment – you write good copy based on bad experience. Now your challenge is too keep us engaged during the good times. Can you rise to the challenge? I believe you Toast and you Biscuit, you can. Go boys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

