Home > Adventures in Dating > I hate haggling

I hate haggling

Toast

This post was written as it happened but not posted until after the event.

I’m terrible at haggling. Actually terrible doesn’t quite cover it. I’m the sort of person that can enter into a negotiation, maybe start a bit strong. Great eh?

But then I’ll be so racked with guilt that I pay more than the buying price and offer use of my house as a weekend away break for the person I’m buying off.

This is an issue with ring buying. Apparently if you visit ‘the workshops’ you get a much better price but it will also involve the dreaded haggling.

If I get ripped off that blasted ring would haunt me for the rest of my life. No longer a symbol of love and affection but a reminder that when it comes to business, I’m better at drawing pictures of horses and skipping through fields.

Get in help

I’m going to see if I can get a friend to act as a haggling consultant. Obviously this will have to be a friend who is discrete AND has good taste, as well as being a super-star haggler.

  1. August 28, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Imagine haggling as game of wits. Image it as something fun, don’t let the guilt catch up on you, because the merchant selling you whatever you are buying, he won’t feel guilty at all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

