Home > Adventures in Dating > Dot-com idea: Date Adviser

Dot-com idea: Date Adviser

ToastImage

I’ve just had an amazing idea for a dot-com. It’s so good I’m going to put it on this secret blog in the hopes that a bored multi-millionaire spots it and emails me to buy the idea. That happens right?

Here is the problem: You never know what someone is like before you date them.

Solution: A website where people are reviewed by ex-girlfriends and boyfriends so you can find out what they are like before you agree to meet them for coffee. Sort of like Trip Advisor but with people.

Meet Datr

Just think about it, knowing the sort of reviews someone had got from previous dates would allow you to skip a whole category of berks. It would be like trying to find the perfect hotel, but with people ‘I’m looking for someone who has at least three stars on empathy with access to a pool’ or, ‘Good value for money, better than I expected and very clean.’

It would be brilliant, or at least better than Klout (which is officially the worst thing ever but people still talk about it).

The only real problem I can see with it is that by asking previous dates to rate them you’d probably get a lot of negative scores. (NEVER CALLED ME BACK -5 points). Oh well that’s a thing for someone else to solve, I’m just an ideas guy.

  1. February 6, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    I have a number of crappy-never went anywhere-men suck dates that I would like ranked based on this.

    • February 6, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Hahaha – That’s what blogs are for :P

      • February 6, 2013 at 3:39 pm

        …i should make a new anonymous blog, ha.

      • February 6, 2013 at 3:50 pm

        It is your destiny.

      • February 6, 2013 at 4:35 pm

        Thank you, blog having yoda. For leading me to my destiny, you have.

  2. February 6, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Love this idea. Can I pass it on to someone I know? And how are you guys? Molly x

    • February 6, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Of course. We’re good. Today I saw a dog in a coat so I’m having an excellent day. You?

  3. Kla
    February 6, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    Kind of similar to my single friend. Maybe exes aren’t the best source of info though? Maybe you should have categories for how the person knows the person in question and be able to sort responses? That way you could get all your friends and family to rank you, but exes could also look you up and rank you… of course, what’s to stop strangers from just throwing in stupid ranks? You either have to let the person know who is rating them (which would lead to less honesty) or have a different validation system. Good idea but very hard to put into practice usefully. (So sayeth the researcher) ;)

    • February 6, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      This is why I need a million pounds to investigate the idea.

  4. February 6, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    http://www.onlulu.com/ it exists but only for ladies. No fair!

    • February 6, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      Well that’s just sexist, or sexy. I forget.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

